Health Is As Health Does

There are some things that taste as good as being thin feels. Like dark chocolate. Wine. Grandma’s cheesy potatoes. And pecan pie cheesecake.

But nothing tastes as good as being healthy. And today, I am thankful for my health.

I work at a hospital. Every day I see sick people. Many of them are just unlucky, with syndromes and diseases brought on by genetics or random happenstance. But there are also hundreds of people at the hospital whose own choices have cost them their time, their money, and most importantly, a good life.

Gluttony may be the most forgivable of the seven sins. I must confess that I, too, use food as a recreational activity sometimes instead of just nourishment. However, since working at a hospital, I have promised to myself that I would never compromise my health for my love for food.

There is a reason people get heart disease and diabetes, a reason people have trouble sleeping or need to use a walker. There is a reason some people have trouble breathing, can’t walk up a flight of stairs without resting, or need to have bypass surgery. I know this, because I have seen it in my own extended family, and I see it every day at the hospital. When I picture myself in the future, I like to see myself growing old healthily and not being reduced to a wheelchair or having a heart attack because I spent my life indulging more than I should have.

I don’t have the most fantastic willpower. I don’t always eat what I should or exercise every day. But today I remembered once again that I am the only person responsible for how I look and feel. Then I turned on Bob Harper. And did 65 minutes of Pure Burn Super Strength.

There were several times I wanted to stop. But I am in control of my body, and I would rather keep myself healthy now than try to turn back time later.

Every day you have a choice. Every day I have a choice. What will I eat today? And how will I burn it off? Health is not something to be taken lightly. And, as Count Rugen said, “If you haven’t got your health, you haven’t got anything.”

Leave a Comment

