For the Love of a Book

Today I am thankful for the joy of reading.

It is becoming more apparent to me that the majority of food bloggers are also avid readers. I frequently find book reviews amidst food posts on many of my favorite foodie sites, which I love since I am always on the lookout for a great book. As an English major who leaned towards creative writing as opposed to English literature, it’s plain to see why.

Readers love to write things they love to read. In the best possible scenario, they (we?) write things others love to read as well. And is there anything better than a love of books as well as a love of food? Cookbooks become poetry, and food blogs the stuff of life.

I have loved reading ever since I can remember. I grew up with Anne of Green Gables, delighted in Laura Ingalls Wilder’s travels, begged for Jean Valjean’s freedom, grew angry at Elizabeth’s pride, rooted for Susannah and Eddie’s love, and wept at Fred’s death. I know it is a privilege to become so engrossed in books; there are some people (such as my husband) who have little interest in losing hours in the placement of letters.

These days, I am devoting my time to two new books (I’m usually working on at least two): The Accidental Tourist and Les Miserables.

I picked up The Accidental Tourist in the clearance bin at Goodwill and started it last night when I couldn’t get to sleep. I’m enthralled already. The protagonist is a travel writer who writes how-to guides for business travelers who would like to see the least amount of foreign cities as possible. The characters are so well-rounded and descriptions vivid that I felt as though I was watching a movie just reading the novel. I am flying through it, and I can’t wait to read more.

Contrary to The Accidental Tourist, the next book I am not flying but crawling through. I am ecstatic about the new Les Miserables movie coming out and decided I wanted to re-read the novel before the big day. It is beast of a book; 1,222 pages to be exact. But the characters are so rich and the plot so juicy that it is worth crawling through. The novel flits from law to politics to religion all within the throes of romantic and familial love and hosts one of my favorite characters of all time: Jean Valjean.

What more can I say? Books are some of my best friends.

3 thoughts on “For the Love of a Book

Leave a Comment

