Thankful Month

Today kicks off the first day of two of my favorite months. That is, two of the only winter months I enjoy.

I am not a winter person. I hate being cold. I hate driving on snowy, icy roads. I hate pants being wet almost to my knees from ugly slush. I hate the smell of winter sweat brought in with runny noses and brisk winds.

But I don’t hate these things until about mid-January. And November is the month where I remember all the things I love about winter. and all the things I have to be thankful for.

Like scarves and pea coats. Candles. Warm drinks. Thanksgiving day. Watching dusty snow fall and knowing I don’t have to leave the house. My annual mint-chocolate bomb mocha chiller from Gloria Jean’s. Holding hands while wearing mittens. Reading under a blanket with a cup of tea. Visiting family for the holidays. And fun hats.

 

My blog has been kind of a bust this week, because my husband keeps bringing me home delicious things to eat. My favorite caprese salad from the grocery story. Veggie subs from subway. And vegetarian pizza from Papa Murphy’s. With a side of gummy bears.

It makes me feel a teensy guilty that I don’t have to come up with a creative, delicious dinner to bore amuse you all with, but it reminds me of something I am thankful for: the thoughtfulness of others.

Like my boss lending me a book she thinks I’d like. My co-worker bringing me a chocolate bar. A note from a friend in the middle of the week. And my husband leaving goodies for me in the fridge.

I have a lot to be thankful for, certainly enough to last me the month. So why just make it a day?

What are you thankful for?

Leave a Comment

