Lazy and Lovely

It’s been a long, lazy, and lovely weekend here so far at the Leahy-Dowe household. I came home Thursday night to discover that, like me, Dave had a three day weekend! We have spent the weekend thus far eating Chinese food, watching Iron Chef, going car shopping (not so successful), bumming around Cook’s Corner (wanting half the items and mercilessly making fun of the other half, like a coffee filter separator), hanging around our apartment, talking a lot, watching Nightmare Before Christmas, eating sushi and entertaining one of my co-workers (who also happens to live on my street) and her fiancee. Fun!

I haven’t seen this much of Dave in a long time, and I’m enjoying it immensely. Yesterday we decided to do a bit of thrifting (much less stressful than car shopping) and invite some friends over for a nacho night. When we’re looking for something to do, bumming around thrift stores and consignment shops is always entertaining. Unfortunately, none of the cool stuff we liked in the consignment shop would have fit in our apartment, but we did snag two new martini glasses (to replace all the ones I broke), a whiskey tumbler, and a cool new coffee mug at the thrift store.

After we got home, we headed into the kitchen for prepping. Dave worked on two different pico de gallo mixtures (one regular, one sweet one with pineapple and mandarin oranges).

 

And I started browning some Farmer’s Market beef for taco meat. Since spices are generally overflowing from our cupboard, I made the taco seasoning as opposed to buying it, and I thought it was quite good (with much less sodium than a package).

  • 2 tbsp chili powder
  • 2 tsp garlic salt
  • 1/2 tsp minced onion
  • 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes
  • 1/2 tsp dried oregano
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • 1 tbsp ground cumin
  • 2 tsp black pepper

 

After the meat finished browning, I stirred in all the taco seasoning with about 1/3 cup of water and turned the heat to low.

The pico de gallo and taco meat were the only things that actually required mixing; after that, Dave and I spent most of our time chopping, dicing, and shredding the sides.

I dug out my new martini glass and made a blended concoction of ice, coffee, and Bailey’s mudslide to help me prep.

 

 

I’m loving my martini glass so far–I’ve already dropped it twice and hit it against the faucet, and it hasn’t broken yet! Hopefully it’s Chel-proof.

Even though we don’t have a gas stove, Dave told me I could still roast the peppers on the burners for a lovely charred effect. (Okay, we’ve been watching quite a bit of Iron Chef).

 

It was fun to watch them dance over the burner from the little beads of water, but it did make me wish we actually had a gas stove. After our friends were over and ready to eat, we laid out the goods.

 

We had two different kinds of pico, shredded cheddar, shredded pepper jack, jalapeno slices, diced green chiles, black olives, refried beans, sweet peppers, green bell peppers, chives, salsa verde, and sour cream, all served with blue corn chips with flaxseed (my fav) and yellow corn chips.

A perfectly delicious way to end a Saturday.

 

 

Leave a Comment

