Fajita Lasagna

I’m just going to say it: I don’t know that much about meat.

Growing up, ours was strictly a chicken breast and ground beef household and, as a result, the different cuts of meat mean very little to me. I never saw someone cut up a whole chicken until I met Dave (although my dad did a lovely job slicing up the turkey every Thanksgiving).

So when I told Dave I used a rib-eye steak to make fajita lasagna tonight, he said it was heresy.

But we both agreed it tasted great.

Since I spent another day at home with my broken car lurking outside my apartment door, I had enough time to finish my last ever Level 1, drool over Food Network’s Thanksgiving issue (Roasted Garlic Brussels Sprouts this year, methinks, , and make a meal that usually takes more time than I have on a weeknight.

Fajita Lasagna

  • 9 whole wheat lasagna noodles
  • 1/2 lb steak, cut into strips (don’t use rib-eye or your spouse will think it’s heresy)
  • 1 c. chopped onion
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 3 portabella mushroom caps, sliced
  • 1 c. pepper strips
  • 28 oz diced tomatoes
  • 1 c. plain Greek yogurt
  • 8 oz mozzarella, shredded
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1/2 cup salsa
  • shredded sharp cheddar for topping
  • 7 tbsp. Fajita seasoning

Cook lasagna according to package directions.

In a large saucepan over medium heat, cook steak and onions until browned. Add garlic, portabella mushrooms caps, and pepper strips and cook for about five more minutes. Add diced tomatoes and fajita seasoning and simmer over medium low heat for about 15 minutes.

In a medium bowl, mix together Greek yogurt, mozzarella, and egg.

In a 9×13 saucepan, cover the bottom with meat sauce mixture.

Layer with three lasagna noodles.

Then top with cheese mixture.

Repeat layers.

Top with 1/2 cup salsa and shredded sharp cheddar cheese.

Bake at 375 degrees for 30-35 minutes or until heated through. Let stand 10 minutes before serving.

Or, if you’re Dave, dig out a piece immediately.

 

Heretically delicious.

Leave a Comment

