Goodbye, Farmer’s Market

I felt kind of cooped up today. Luckily, I didn’t get called into work (which saved my brother a trip to come pick me up), and I may not have gone anywhere anyway, but just knowing that I couldn’t go anywhere gave me a bit of cabin fever. I did the best I could with what I had at home.

First, exercise. Here’s a hint to how well I know Level 1 of 30 Day Shred: I performed the entire workout this morning without watching the video at all. In fact, I was watching an episode of Parenthood.

I actually think I worked out much more vigorously without the video on in the background. I always feel the need to pace myself to their level, even though my body naturally wants to speed things up a bit. Today, I sped things up naturally but performed each circuit a bit longer, so I ended up with a full 30 minute workout.

I then read one hundred more pages of Born to Run. I cannot get over these 300 mile ultrarunners; they are crazy and inspiring, and I never knew I could be so interested about the human biology behind running before. Did you know that the human foot contains over 1/4 of all the bones present in the human body? The human body never ceases to amaze me.

After reading, I made myself a little lunch. Lunch is usually not a very exciting meal for me, but since I was home to cook and hadn’t eaten breakfast, I actually took the time to make myself something.

I stir-fried some frozen veggies and shrimp.

Then added my favorite Thai Peanut Sauce with powdered peanut butter, soy sauce, rice wine vinegar, ground ginger, garlic, and red pepper flakes. Looove that sauce.

 

The icing on the cake was eating it with chopsticks.

After cooking lunch, I had a baking itch. I decided to make one of my favorite addictions and give some to my mom and brother Tyler as a thank-you for carting me around: homemade granola.

Homemade Granola

  • 2 1/2 cups old fashioned oats
  • 3/4 cup pecan pieces
  • 1/4 cup slivered almonds
  • 1/4 cup sesame seeds
  • 2 tbsp Stevia
  • 2 tbsp brown sugar
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil
  • 1/2 cup dried cranberries
  • 1/4 cup shredded coconut

Preheat oven to 300 degrees Fahrenheit. In a large bowl, mix together oats, nuts, seeds, sugar, cinnamon, and salt. Set aside.

In a small saucepan over low heat, add applesauce, honey, and oil. Mix applesauce mixture into oat mixture, and stir to coat everything. Spread mixture into a 9×13 baking pan.

Bake for 45 to 50 minutes, stirring every 10 minutes. When 15 minutes are remaining, stir in shredded coconut. After removing granola from the oven, stir in dried cranberries and cool completely before storing.

*****

My sister Emily came to pick me up at 4, and we headed to the last Farmer’s Market on Broadway of the season with my grandma, Aunt Dina, Mom, Aurelia, and my other sister Moriah. The day was a bit chilly and since it was the end of the season, vendors were a lot more sparse.

I wasn’t on a mission for veggies this time, though; I was on a mission for meat. Since local, humane-certified meat is so hard to find and expensive at the grocery stores, I wanted to stock our freezer with a few goodies for the winter.

 

I left with ground beef, ground bison, ribeye steak, stew meat, and pork chops. And then I got some cajun smoked salmon…because I couldn’t resist.

All that walking made us hungry, so we stopped for Chinese food at Mr. Ginger and headed back to my grandma’s house for a bit of a visit.

 

I ordered shrimp curry and a spring roll. The curry was extremely spicy but very tasty. I always forget to cook with curry at home, even though I love it. I finished all the curried shrimp and veggies and left about half the rice.

Then I went home….with this!

 

I bought my sister Emily a subscription to the Food Network magazine for her last birthday, and I love to read her copies when I’m over. I love food magazines, but I never order any–I think the Food Network magazine is going to go on my wish list this year, though. I’m eager to dive into this issue and even more excited for the holiday issue!

 

Leave a Comment

