Plumb Plums

I was plumb tired yesterday and for no particular reason. Other than a few hours spent with Dad trying to fix my car (which is fixed now–hooray! Thanks, Dad!) and working on pretzel dough pizza crust, I didn’t do anything that necessitated a 10pm bedtime last night. Still, it was all I could do to stay up even that long.

Although I woke up every couple hours, I slept straight until 8:30 this morning! I woke up to do day number five of Level 1 of 30 Day Shred. It’s becoming easier now to wake up to exercise, which is great.

 

Once again, I turned the volume of 30 Day Shred off and the volume on my Itunes up. This morning’s music of choice was Gaelic Storm, which was a lovely way to start my day. I’m glad I decided to do only seven days of Level 1, because I’m wearied of it. Unfortunately, that means I’ll be even more tired of Level 2.

Monotony is not for the faint of heart.

After exercising, I started on breakfast. I have been all about the egg sandwich lately, but this morning it was back to oatmeal. We had a few plums in the refrigerator that needed to be used up, and I didn’t think they would taste great on an egg sandwich.

 

I made this morning’s stove top oats with 1/2 cup almond coconut milk, 1/2 cup water, 1/3 cup rolled oats, 1 tsp Stevia, 1 tsp chia seeds, cinnamon, a splash of vanilla, and a diced plum stirred in at the end. I topped the oatmeal with dried cranberries and chopped pecans.

I’ve never used plum in my oatmeal before, but it was quite good. Still, I felt like I was missing something. It wasn’t until I started putting on makeup for work that I remembered–I didn’t have any coffee!

I really must have slept well last night to forget. That won’t matter later, because I could enter a competition for most-yawns-per-workday and come out on top. Though I clearly didn’t need the coffee for caffeine, I couldn’t turn down the thought of a cup of caramel cream flavored coffee.

 

And now my morning is complete.

Leave a Comment

