Autumnal Day

My family had a pumpkin carving day today. It felt just like Thanksgiving. Wine, beer, tea, and coffee were aplenty, and the house was warm and full of people, laughter, and the smell of delicious food.

Unfortunately, I forgot my camera at home today, so I didn’t get to take photos of the awesome pumpkins everyone carved, much less our meal. For dinner, my mom made French onion soup, my aunt brought creamy tomato soup, my sister baked two pumpkin pies, and my brother cooked out chorizo sausages, boca burgers, and tofurkey dogs on the grill.

I brought this salad as my offering and came home with an empty container.

 

I highly recommend it.

Firstly, Dave shelled out $5.00 for the special bacon that made this salad. He knows the way to a woman’s heart. Yes, it only contained nine strips of bacon and, yes, it was delicious.

 

Happy pigs make happy tasting bacon! I had to be a flexitarian against my will today, as my mom made the French onion soup with chicken stock, but at least I felt better about my happy bacon.

 

 

Autumn Chopped Salad

  • 6 to 8 cups of chopped Romaine lettuce
  • 2 medium pears, chopped
  • 1 cup dried cranberries
  • 1 cup chopped pecans
  • 5 slices bacon, crumbled
  • 4 to 6 oz feta cheese crumbled
  • Balsamic Vinaigrette (I made some homemade using this recipe)

Combine all ingredients but dressing. Before serving, toss salad with vinaigrette.

Adapted from: Amanda’s Recipes

 

 

Leave a Comment

