Current Faves

I had to start a new ‘happy’ show since I’m all caught up on Downton Abbey (yes, I finished the first two seasons! That’s how much I loved it). I am still making my way through Breaking Bad, but I have to stagger the episodes, because it gets me down.

My moods are easily swayed by television and literature.

Thus I started Parenthood by recommendation of my sister. It’s not fabulous, but it’s good. It’s sort of how I envision my family as we grow older, which is perhaps why I keep watching. It’s full of funny and sweet moments regarding familial relationships, and it stars one of my all-time-favorite crushes: Lauren Graham.

 

 

She could be one of the reasons I keep watching, too. She’s still very ‘Lorelai’ to me in this show, but I’m doing my very best to ignore it.

I’m getting my literature in, too: I’m currently reading The History of Love by Nicole Krauss, and Born to Run by Christopher McDougall.

The History of Love is just…hauntingly beautiful. I find myself rolling most of the sentences around in my mouth because they are too precious to let go: “At the end, all that’s left of you are your possessions. Perhaps that’s why I’ve never been able to throw anything away. Perhaps that’s why I hoarded the world: with the hope that when I died, the sum total of my things would suggest a life larger than the one I lived.”

I haven’t finished it yet, because I don’t want to.

Born to Run is one of the first creative non-fiction books I’ve read in a very long time. The author, a would-be runner with a hurt foot, is led on an expedition to track down the Tarahumara Indians, a tribe who somehow bypassed the idea of running for exercise and run hundreds of miles per day simply to get from A to B.

This book is incredibly engaging, and I find myself in awe of most of the superathletes involved. It also reminds me of how much I don’t know: I’ve never even heard of the Tarahumara tribe before (well, supposedly they like to keep to themselves), and I find it entertaining that they run shoeless on a diet of chia-seed drinks and beans, while America has us drinking Gatorade and worrying about prorated tennis shoes.

What are you watching/reading?

2 thoughts on “Current Faves

  1. I keep hearing great things about Parenthood. I think that it would be hard for me not to think of Lauren Graham as Lorelai, but if her character is similar then the show sounds like it’s worth checking out! Need to start Downton Abbey first, though. 🙂

    That line from The History of Love gives me chills. I love books where you don’t want to reach the end! I just finished The House I Love and am currently reading Abundance, a novel about Marie Antoinette. I’m really enjoying this one!

Leave a Comment

