Two for Two

Just as I was leaving for work this morning, I nearly tripped on a basket outside my door. It was a lovely ‘Happy Anniversary’ gift from my parents filled with Cabernet Sauvignon, Irish cheese, Herbs de Provence Salami, sesame crackers, dark chocolate, and a note with the inscription ‘Love is all you need.’ Unfortunately, I didn’t have time to take a picture, but it was a wonderful start to my day: my parents know me well.

There are so many things to celebrate in October that I can’t keep them straight: my anniversary, a friend’s birthday, three family member’s birthdays (including my Davy!), my parent’s anniversary, and of course, Halloween. Not to mention the usual pleasures of the fall season: the crunchy leaves, crisp air, pumpkin and apple-flavored everything, and the beautiful colors which, this year, are the most brilliant I have ever seen.

Unfortunately, I can’t celebrate as well as I would like to yet– I can’t seem to rid myself of this bloody cough. It is physically painful every time I do so; I feel as though I’m going to crack a rib if it keeps up much longer. I’ve been staving it off as best as I can with tea, cough drops, Dayquil and Nyquil, but it just won’t leave me alone. 😦

My sore throat has me still craving soup, but my higher energy levels have me yearning to cook. Fortunately, my mind was made up when I came home and found Dave had made guacamole. Taco salad!

 

I sauteed some frozen pepper strips and Morning Star meatless crumbles in olive oil, then added chili powder, garlic powder, onion powder, red pepper flakes, oregano, paprika, and cumin for that taco seasoning taste.

I piled the pepper mixture on a bed of lettuce and topped it with guacamole, salsa, shredded sharp cheddar, and some Greek yogurt. Tortilla chips on the side for scooping.

Then I polished off the last Chai Pumpkin Spice cookie (don’t worry, I only brought five home from my Grandma’s and Dave ate one)–I like them more and more every time I try one. A perfectly sweet end to the meal.

And another episode of Downton Abbey will be a perfectly sweet end to my day.

 

 

Leave a Comment

