Table for One

Except for a silly card I gave Dave and an endearing drawing he left for me, our anniversary day went by relatively unnoticed. In fact, we didn’t see each other at all. 😦

But no matter, because we’re going away this weekend to Chicago! Our main goal is to get to the Shedd Aquarium on Saturday with lots of other possibilities for the weekend: a visit to the Museum of Science and Industry or a drive to IKEA are thoughts, and I’m hoping to  finally taste real Chicago style deep dish pizza.

I’m not sure what exactly we’ll end up doing, but I’m elated to be going away for a weekend with Dave. The two of us have never gone on a vacation (mini or otherwise) alone, so maybe that’s why I’m so excited.

After I woke up and laughed over Dave’s funny anniversary note for me, it was time to get down to business. I haven’t done any form of exercise (other than walking) for the last week, and Level 1 of 30 Day Shred nearly undid me today; I can’t believe how short of breath I got during the cardio intervals, but I kept plugging away to the end. I’m looking forward to Levels 2 & 3 being a cinch again, but it seems I have a ways to go.

 

More fruit for breakfast! I had some delicious red grapes alongside some sprouted seven-grain toast topped with an over-hard egg. I topped the egg with some Sriracha to help clear out this bronchitis–it certainly opened up my sinuses!

When I got home from work, I had designs to use up some itty bitty eggplant my Mom dropped off the other day for me.

 

 

I don’t cook with eggplant terribly often, so I just started throwing stuff in the pan while it sauteed: minced garlic, an onion, some spinach, paprika, marjoram, balsamic vinegar, salt, and pepper.

 

After it was tender, I added my last bag of wild rice from the freezer and mixed it all together.

 

I served half of this alongside a cut of chicken breast Dave roasted on the grill on Saturday and a hunk of Wisconsin Five Cheese artisan bread.

 

I topped the eggplant dish with some shredded Fenugreek Jack Goat Cheese for a little extra flavor. Goat Cheese is one of the few cheeses I don’t really care for, but just a little bit of it packed a powerful punch in this dish. I was pleased with how it turned out.

Now I have plans to settle down with some tea, a Chai Pumpkin Spice cookie, and another episode of Downton Abbey.

Leave a Comment

