Wedding Weekend Begins!

I have been feeling like rubbish the last few days. Nausea, dizziness, stomach pains, sore throat, cough, hot and cold sweats; you name it. I was so ill yesterday I could scarcely stand more than a few minutes without having to sit down and was forced to call in sick, which I absolutely hate to do. ūüė¶ Fortunately, I got some much-needed sleep during the day yesterday, then went to bed early at my parent’s house last night in preparation for a day of creating wedding flowers.

I was up with the sun soon after 6:00am and made a lovely pot of oatmeal for my mom, sister, and I to enjoy.

 

Apple Oatmeal for Three

  • 1 cup sweetened vanilla almond milk
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • dash of salt
  • 1 ginormous Braeburn apple, diced
  • splash of agave nectar
  • splash of vanilla

Topped with some chopped dates (yum!) and walnuts.

After breakfast, Emily headed off to work, and Mom and I got work on the flowers. While working, we tested out some of her new tea flavors: Mocha Nut Mate and Apple. So good! Tea is especially delicious when you’re sick, and I loved the new flavors.

After the last huge wedding we did (11 bridesmaids and 11 groomsmen!), with these flowers we got to ‘savor life in the slow lane’ a bit more.

 

I loved the colors for these-do they scream fall or what? So pretty. Gerbera daisies are not easy to work with (they have a tendency to pop their heads off), but they definitely make a statement.

 

These yellow ones are definitely my favorite, if I had to chose.

 

Lovely red and orange¬†Gerbera¬†daisies for the girls’ bouquets.

One thing we love to do is tie ribbon around the bouquets–there is always room for a little more fancy.

 

Another fridge full of flowers!

We drove into town to pick up a few more flowers and then Mom and I split up–she’s gone to drop off the cake flowers, mail a corsage to a loved one who can’t make the wedding, and check out the reception hall for the centerpieces. I’m getting ready for the rehearsal; I’m determined to power through this weekend with grace; I’m already sick of being sick!

 

Leave a Comment

