Spicy Morning

Can you remember the last time you had a breakfast quesadilla?

Yeah, me either. But it’s exactly what I was craving this morning. And since I have the day off again (I work this weekend…blech), I had the time to do it.

First I sauteed some mushrooms, peppers, and onions in a medium saucepan with a little olive oil.

 

I added a little liquid egg whites to the mix along with oregano, cumin, garlic salt, and cayenne pepper. I think it’s funny that taco seasoning and chili seasoning have so many of the same spices, yet chili doesn’t remind me of Mexican food at all. Weird.

I cut a spinach and herb tortilla in half, then layered some grated sharp cheddar cheese, the pepper mixture, and more cheese for good binding.

 

After topping it with the second tortilla half, I pan fried it with some olive oil spray for 2-3 minutes on each side.

 

Topped with a little plain non-fat Greek yogurt and some salsa for good measure. The best condiments!

This veggie, cheesy goodness was the perfect start to my day. Now I’m off to run some errands while trying to break in my new heels for the wedding. I never wear heels, so this is going to be quite the adventure…

 

 

