Apple Pie Oatmeal

I’m scared to start thinking “fall” too early. It’s such a beautiful season, and here in Wisconsin, it goes by quicker than summer. Sometimes we don’t even get an autumn: just a few weeks of cold rain in between our hot, sunny days and the onslaught of biting wind and snow.

I guess all I can do is sit back, enjoy some apple pie oatmeal, and hope the season lasts. Preferably until the day after Thanksgiving.

  • 1/3 cup old fashioned oats
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • 1/2 cup water
  • dash of salt
  • dash of nutmeg
  • pinch of cinnamon
  • splash of vanilla
  • 1 tsp Stevia (optional)
  • 1 tsp chia seeds
  • 1 chopped apple
  • grated sharp cheddar cheese

It’s been awhile since I’ve discussed my oatmeal making process. I know this because my Mom was confused the last time I made oatmeal at her house, and she is my #1 reader.

First, I cannot stress enough the importance of using the stove top, as opposed to the microwave. The oats taste sooo much better, and you won’t have any icky, goopey, microwave spills. I tried to microwave oatmeal at my parent’s a few weeks ago and it did not go well. Thus, stove top.

In a small or medium saucepan, bring milk, water, and a dash of salt to a rolling boil. Once boiling, stir in oats and let boil for about five minutes, stirring occasionally. Add chopped apple, spices, vanilla, and chia seeds. (The only reason I put Stevia as optional was because I forgot to add it. Oops). Boil for another 2-3 minutes, stirring occasionally. Remove pan from heat, cover, and let oatmeal sit for about 2 minutes.

In the mean time, prepare your toppings.

Have you ever had apple pie with melted sharp cheddar baked right in the crust? It’s delicious. The secret is to use the sharpest cheddar you can possibly find; mild or medium cheddar just won’t cut it.

 

What can I say? It’s my Autumn Almanac.

 

 

