New Brussels Sprout Recipe

Well, I got my protein in at lunch in the form of peanut butter, some healthy carbs and whole grains in the form of a whole wheat English muffin and a bit of vegetable couscous salad, and my apple…in the form of an apple.

For dinner, I wanted to try out a new cooking method for brussels sprouts. I love them roasted and grilled, but I was interested to see if I would love them as much a little less crispy.  After a bit of searching, I was inspired by a recipe I found on Food Network.

  • 1 1/2 cups brussels sprouts
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 2 slices cooked bacon, crumbled
  • 1 tsp apple cider vinegar
  • salt & pepper

Bring a medium pot of water to a boil. Trim the bottom end of the brussels sprouts leaving the core intact, and pull off the outer dark leaves. Halve through the core.

Add the Brussels sprouts and cook, uncovered, until tender, about 6 minutes. Drain and rinse under cold running water.

Heat olive oil in a medium saucepan over medium high heat. Add brussels sprouts and cook about 10 minutes, or until browned.

 

Stir in vinegar, salt, pepper, and bacon.

Unfortunately for me, I have not yet been able to find humane certified bacon, so I used Morning Star soy bacon.

 

No, it’s not as good as the real deal, but for hurting people like me, it does the trick. Happy pigs, where are you?!

For my protein, I baked a salmon filet at 375 degrees for 12 minutes.

In a desperate attempt to incorporate some sort of berry into my dinner, I almost considered a blueberry sauce for the salmon…but I just wasn’t feeling it. I thought an avocado sauce would make a much nicer accompaniment.

I felt bad for letting Bob down on the very first day until I had an epiphany–avocados are berries! Boy, did that save me from what could have been a very…interesting….dinner.

  • 1/4 avocado, mashed
  • 1 tbsp milk
  • 1 tsp minced garlic
  • dash of lime juice
  • salt & pepper to taste

Whip together all ingredients, and heat before serving.

 

Sauteed brussels sprouts? Not as good as roasted, but still pretty delicious. With real bacon, I’m sure they would have been fantastic. The combination of sweet and tangy apple cider vinegar with the saltiness of the ‘bacon’ was really good.

 

And I’m not complaining about the salmon either. But I never do.

Leave a Comment

