Shrooms

My initial plan for the oyster mushrooms I picked up from the farmer’s market was to make a mushroom pizza. But, having had pizza for dinner both Friday and Saturday night and pizza for breakfast this morning, my plans changed. I like pizza as much as the next red-blooded American, but four times in as many days seemed a bit excessive.

Savory Mushroom Frittata…..that’ll do nicely

  • 1/4 cup egg whites
  • 1/2 cup oyster mushrooms, chopped
  • 2 cups spinach, chopped
  • 1 small onion, diced
  • 1 tsp butter
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 1/4 tsp oregano
  • 1/4 tsp minced garlic
  • 1 tbsp parmesan cheese
  • salt & pepper

Preheat oven to 375. In a medium pan over medium heat, heat olive oil and butter. Add mushrooms and onions to pan and saute for about five minutes, or until onions become translucscent.

Add spinach and stir for two more minutes. Mix in spices.

 

(Great way to get veggies in–spinach turns to practically nothing when sauteed!)

Turn heat to medium low, pour in egg whites and let mixture sit for about three minutes or until puffy. Sprinkle with parmesan.

Bake uncovered at 375 for 5-7 minutes.

I feel bad that I haven’t taken advantage of our farmer’s markets as often as I could have this summer. Veggies at the farmer’s market are cheaper, more delicious, and their purchase supports local farmers while leaving a shorter carbon trail. Frankly, there’s no good reason not to shop local. (Those peaches spoke for themselves).

Part of the reason I started pondering this is because I finished reading Animal, Vegetable, Miracle by Barbara Kingsolver today. I can’t recommend this book enough. Barbara documents a year in food life as she and her family make an effort to consume only that which they can produce themselves or obtain locally. I am amazed at her family’s willingness to sacrifice their guilty pleasures as they voyage into a new dimension of food consumption: eating in season. (They didn’t even eat bananas)!

I think I have been doing well at making most most of my meals and using fresh, healthy ingredients, but something I need to work on is consuming less processed food. Frankly, processed food is a trigger food for me: I find it nearly impossible to eat just one serving of pretzels, pita chips, or even dried fruit. Don’t even get me started on trail mix.

And while I don’t think there is anything wrong with processed food once in awhile, I’m going to try to make more of an effort to consume less foods with added sugar or salt as an experiment to see if I have fewer cravings for them.

Fresh and healthy, all the way! Of course, popcorn won’t count in this experiment…:)

Leave a Comment

