Shut Your Pie Hole and Start Baking!

I get really antsy when I don’t have plans on the weekend. Dave loves it when he’s trying to relax after a sixty-hour workweek, and I’m tugging on his shirt saying “What are we gonna dooooo today?”

I usually end up baking and/or cleaning, because I feel guilty watching TV when it’s sunny outside. (At times like these, I wish I lived in a house, so I could piddle around in my very own garden…) If I do watch TV, I shut the blinds, so I can pretend it’s nighttime, and I’m not being lazy.

So far today, I opted for baking and cleaning. Since this is a food blog, I will spare you photos of a Chel-hair covered sink counter, the blue ring around the inside of our toilet, and the orange spots on the tub ledge from leaving my wet Warrior arm guards sit on it after Warrior Dash last weekend.

Pictures of food are always better. Since I have almost devoured all my Farmer’s Market peaches, I decided to get to work on the rhubarb today with Rhubarb Streusel Muffins and Rhubarb Strawberry Pie.

Rhubarb Streusel Muffins

 

Streusel Mixture:

  • 1/4 cup rolled oats
  • 1/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 tbsp Stevia
  • 3 tbsp brown sugar
  • 1/4 tsp ground cinnamon
  • pinch of nutmeg
  • pinch of salt
  • 3 tbsp butter, melted and cooled slightly

Muffin Mixture:

  • 1 large egg
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 3 tbsp Stevia
  • 5 tbsp butter, melted and cooled slightly
  • 3/4 cup plain non-fat Greek yogurt
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • 1 cup wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 cup diced rhubarb

To make streusel: combine all ingredients, and stir until crumbly, but held together. Set aside.

 

To make muffin mixture: Whisk egg with both of the sugars. Stir in butter, then yogurt.

 

In a separate bowl, combine flours, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Slowly incorporate flour mixture into wet mixture. Resist the urge to over-stir! 

Fold in diced rhubarb.

 

Mix in 1/3 of the streusel mixture. Divide batter among 12 muffin cups, and top with streusel mixture.

 

I used my silicone muffin cups, which are sometimes hard to clean, but they are eco-friendly and make cleaning the pan a cinch. A fair trade-off.

 

Bake at 375 degrees for 15-20 minutes until tops are golden brown, and a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

 

Recipe adapted from: smittenkitchen.com

*****

I thought these muffins were fan-frickin’-tabulous: a perfect combination of sweet and tangy. Dave was not as impressed, but he is not a fan of rhubarb. So take my word for it.

I had plans to freeze the rest of the rhubarb to make rhubarb chili on a cold day….but I was still antsy.

Rhubarb Strawberry Pie

  • pie crust
  • streusel topping
  • 1/4 cup white sugar
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup Stevia
  • 1/3 cup wheat flour
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 cups strawberries, sliced
  • 4 cups rhubarb, sliced

I did something completely different this time and made an oil pastry pie crust. Since I haven’t tried this yet, I’ll have to give you an update on my thoughts about it. In the meantime, use your favorite pie crust recipe!

Pie crust:

  • 1 cup wheat flour
  • 1/4 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 cup Canola oil
  • 4 tbsp milk

In a medium bowl, stir together flour and salt. Add oil and milk to flour mixture. Stir lightly with a fork. Add more milk if necessary, then form pastry into a ball. On a lightly floured surface, roll out pie crust into a 12 inch circle. Press into pie plate. Do not prick pastry.

 

 

In a separate bowl, combine sugars, flour, and cinnamon. Gently stir in strawberries and rhubarb until well coated. Fill pie crust with rhubarb-strawberry mixture.

 

I am a huge fan of crumb toppings for pies, as opposed to another pie crust. I like the extra crunch on top, as well as the fact that I don’t have to roll out two pie crusts.

For this pie, I made the same streusel topping I used for the muffins, then sprinkled it over the rhubarb-strawberry mixture.

I tend to bake a lot of pies around the holiday season, and every year, I fight with the aluminium foil when I try to wrap my beautiful, ceramic pie plates with slippery foil. Last year, after nearly breaking down in tears one day, I asked for a pie crust cover from Dave’s parents. They delivered a wonderful silicone pie crust to stop all my frustrated tears from October to December.

Since Dave isn’t really a fan of pies, and I have no business eating an entire pie myself, I haven’t used this since I received it in December. I’m so glad I had the opportunity to test it out today before the pie-baking extravaganza that will occur as soon as my parent’s apple trees produce until after New Year’s.

Bake pie at 375 degrees for 25 minutes with pie crust cover. Remove cover and bake an additional 20 minutes.

 

Smells delicious. Now I will stare at it until I decide where to bring it. Or go to the store for vanilla ice cream and plunk down with a fork. In front of the TV. With the blinds closed.

 

Leave a Comment

