Markets and Cookies

After bumming around at home this morning, I decided to go spend the day with my sister Moriah and visit my grandma. Unfortunately, Grandma wasn’t feeling too well and spent most of the time sleeping. She felt bad that she wasn’t up to visit, but I assured her I’d rather have her get better so we can have a good visit when she’s feeling well.

I brought lunch for Moriah and I to eat from Panera—Italian Combo with chips for her, Greek Salad with a multigrain baguette for me.

Dressing on the side, per usual. This salad is so flavorful, it really doesn’t need dressing, anyway. I forked a few dollops on and threw the rest away.

I haven’t had many of the other salads at Panera, but this one is top notch. Kalamata olives, hearty chunks of romatoes, red onions, feta, and pepperoncini–it’s pretty much perfect.

Afterwards, I dragged Moriah to the Farmer’s Market with me. Fortunately, she didn’t put up much resistance. 🙂

Tonight’s market was perfect; there weren’t as many people crowding the sidewalks as usual, so we had plenty of room to walk and shop. (Driving through rush hour traffic though? Not so much fun).

I snacked on a delicious peach as we walked around. It was fairly crisp but the flavor was amazing–I almost preferred it to an overly ripe and juicy peach. Not as messy!

Then Moriah and I shared a Savory Galette.

I was expecting the base to be like a focaccia, but it tasted more like pie crust. Unfortunately, I wasn’t overly impressed with the flavor–it needed a little more oomph. Moriah wasn’t overly impressed with the fact that she has to pose for pictures for her sister’s food blog.

I left the market with:

  • peaches
  • rhubarb
  • carrots
  • fresh mozzarella
  • brussels sprouts
  • oyster mushrooms
  • grape tomatoes
  • lamb
  • sirloin steak

I am more than ready for some good meat, and I’m lucky that the Farmer’s Market provides grass fed, pasture raised lamb and beef. Well worth the higher price tag, in my opinion. I’m thinking about using the lamb for shepherd’s pie and the steak for…grilled steak. Covered with caramelized onions and mushrooms.

When we got back, Moriah asked if I wanted to bake some cookies with her. Is that a real question? After heading to the store to pick up a missing ingredient (brown sugar), we started baking away. My sister Moriah has always baked the best chocolate chip cookies, so I was glad to have the opportunity to make them with her.

Unfortunately, I don’t have the recipe, but I may remember what went into it….

Cream together 3/4 cup melted butter, 1 cup brown sugar, and 1/2 cup white sugar in a bowl. Mix in 1 whole egg plus 1 egg yolk (and herein lies the secret to extreme chewiness).

Mix in one teaspoon of vanilla.

Meanwhile, sift together 2 cups flour and 1 tsp baking soda. Slowly incorporate flour into wet mixture.

Mix until just combined, then stir in 1 1/2 cups chocolate chips.

Spoon onto an ungreased baking sheet.

And bake for 15-17 minutes at 325 degrees. (Mo, let me know if I screwed up the recipe!)

Eat one immediately.

Hanging out with Moriah = pretty fun time.

Leave a Comment

