See You on the Other Side

I slept well last night until about 1:00am when I woke up with my stomach cramping like I was going to be sick. After getting up, looking in vain for some Pepto, and finally just drinking a glass of water, it took me another hour or so to fall back asleep.

Weirdly enough, I left dreamland running down the streets of Paris while Les Miserables played out around me. I was Eponine, and I woke up just as I lay dying in the alley with Marius by my side. I don’t know if that bodes well for today. Let’s just assume I’m really psyched about the new Les Miserables movie coming out this year, and my sleep death has nothing to do with the waiver I signed last night. 🙂

I don’t normally eat breakfast so early, but I wanted to get something in my stomach for the long drive.

Vanilla yogurt (not Greek!) topped with blueberries and a dollop of creamy peanut butter. I stole Dave’s pb this morning instead of using my powdered peanut butter–I figured I could use the extra fat and protein today.

Then I packed up some snacks for later.

An apple, Sunny Cranberry trail mix, Clif s’mores granola bars, and some popcorn. There is no food allowed on the grounds at Warrior Dash, but I’m hoping to pop some trail mix and maybe the apple before we leave the car for an extra surge of energy. As for the rest of the food, Dave assured me Johnson Creek is not in the middle of nowhere, but I still want to be prepared! Popcorn in the hotel room sounds like it might be a good idea.

Look! I got my Roman Warrior arm guards! They are tie on, so I’ll have to wait for someone to adjust them properly. I have decided not to wear my running belt during the race, although maybe for pictures. I forgot I need somewhere to pin my running bib, and I don’t want to run the risk of getting stuck in a cargo net.

And now…I’m off! I’ll be back some time tomorrow afternoon to update you on the race, hopefully with some decent pictures.

Huzzah!

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “See You on the Other Side

Leave a Comment

