This Bread is Bananas

Don’t hate me, but today I got really excited for the holiday season.

I tried to deconstruct my yearning for chunky sweaters, apple pies, the song ‘Gabby the Gobbler,’ watching every Christmas movie that exists, (ask Dave, it’s true), drinking eggnog, and taking photos of our cats tangled up in the tree lights only to realize I’m not really ready for November, I’m just ready for a change of food.

I’m sick of salads. Tired of tomatoes. Bored with broccoli. Wearied by watermelon. Jaded by…err…jackfruit. (Just as you most certainly are now annoyed by alliteration).

I’m ready to bake oodles of cookies and pies. I’m ready to brew up some veggie chili, layer a lasagna, and whip up some garlic mashed potatoes. I have an urge to make a pan of enchiladas and some Sicilian meatloaf. These last two are especially strange, because I don’t think I’ve ever made enchiladas, and I’m not a huge fan of meatloaf.

I don’t want to bring my beloved summer to an early close: I just needed to bake something. Easily solved.

 

Vegan Banana Bread

In a large bowl, mix:

  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup white flour
  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 2 tbsp milled flaxseed

 

In your mixer, blend:

  • 3/4 cup tofu
  • 1/2 cup stevia
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup applesauce
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 cup bananas, mashed
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts

Slowly incorporate wet mixture into dry mixture. Fold in chopped walnuts.

Add mixture to a greased bread pan.

(If you double the batch like I did, you’ll end up with one ginormous loaf and a personal sized loaf!)

Bake at 350 degrees for 55-60 minutes until golden brown and delicious smelling.

 

Admire the crusty top.

Inhale the scent of sweet warm bananas.

Then eat half the personal sized loaf.

 

Before even contemplating dinner. Is this my best Warrior prep meal? I don’t know, but it sure tastes like it.

 

 

 

One thought on “This Bread is Bananas

  1. Pingback: The Last Supper | Designs on Dinner

Leave a Comment

