The Last Supper

I really wanted to get in a hardcore cardio workout today, but from everything I’ve read, it’s best to let your body rest the day before a race. Even if it’s only a 5k.

So I let my body ‘rest’ by doing 25 minutes of yoga with Chris Freytag.

Now I’m loose, limber, and (hopefully) ready to run. And crawl. And leap. Etc.

It seemed like a good idea to stock up on veggies before tomorrow’s race. A salad would have been a great choice to pack a powerful veggie punch. But, like I said, I’m sick of salads.

Roasted veggies to the rescue!

I chopped up a yellow onion, some broccoli, cauliflower, and a carrot to start. I wanted a sweet potato, too, but our cupboard was completely barren of them! A travesty indeed.

Then I drizzled on the olive oil and some seasonings to my sweet-potato-less veggie mix.

Tonight’s seasonings of choice included Thyme, Oregano, Z’aatar, Garlic Salt, and freshly ground Pepper.

Sometimes I wonder if I consume too many veggies at once–is this a bad thing? I’m definitely not a nutritionist so I’m curious. While I contemplated the fact that my dinner was a vegetable serving large enough for three, these veggies roasted at 375 for thirty minutes.

Meanwhile, I made my last supper drink: a dirty martini.

When the veggies came out, the TV came on.

After I sprinkled them with cheese, of course.

Time to watch 300, hit the sack early, and get a good night’s rest for the big day tomorrow!

Leave a Comment

