Thursday Triumph

My late night last night meant a late start to today–I didn’t wake up until 11:00am! It was worth it, though; I had a wonderful time catching up with my friend Dane over three delicious beers: Sierra Nevada, Blue Moon, and Guinness. Fortunately, my agenda for the day is small, so a late start isn’t a big deal. One: go running for the last time (before Warrior Dash) and Two: finish my costume.

My run today could not have been more perfect. Before I left the apartment, I had a pre-run snack with my two cups of coffee:

Half a whole wheat English muffin with a tbsp of peanut butter. I rarely ever eat anything before I exercise, but this seemed to give me an extra boost today. I loved that I didn’t have to rush to be back for anything so I got to leave the house at my leisure. The inside of our apartment was so hot and muggy, though, that I was eager to get into the cool breeze outside.

I didn’t take any chances with my feet, either. My feet and calves were cramping all night, so I stuck with my trusty Asics today.

Sorry, Nike. You’re going to have to work harder to make me love you.

Three miles in twenty-nine minutes, followed by a mile long power walk. I was smiling so hard when the song Ballroom Blitz came on that I started to contemplate my earlier belief that After Warrior Dash, there’s no way I’m going to continue running–I hate it too much!

As I ran today, I realized I didn’t hate it. The weather was beautiful, my knees didn’t hurt, I didn’t feel overly exhausted, and I was working up a good sweat. Also, I started to imagine how beautiful a fall run would be.

The sound of leaves crunching underfoot just might be better than a morning with Level 2 of Shred It with Weights and a living room view.

After I returned and showered, I had the second half of my breakfast, which was now lunch.

Half a whole wheat English muffin with a tbsp of low sugar raspberry jam (look, I just had a deconstructed pb&j!) and a gala apple.

On the side, water out of my cool, new bpa free water bottle!

I wanted one of these as soon as they came out, but I waited until the price dropped from $20 to $7 before purchasing. I like it for when I don’t want to lug around my 32 oz water bottle, and also, it fits in my car cup holder.

I’m going to ride this runner’s high while I work on my costume–here’s hoping it will hold together in the race! Pictures later when I’m finished. 🙂

Leave a Comment

