Shrimp & Veggie Stir Fry

Even though it’s August, I can feel summer coming to a close. I know this because the sun is nearly down upon returning home from work now. Unfortunately, my pictures will continue to get worse and worse with no natural light, unless I become inventive and create a lightbox…

Since it was dark when I got home and I was already famished, dinner was as quick as could be: stir fry.

And I didn’t even have to start from scratch!

I heated up 1/2 tbsp of olive oil in a medium saucepan, then added about 1/4 of this bag along with some fresh broccoli and the remains of a bag of pepper stir fry. I thawed some frozen cooked shrimp in cold water while this cooked for about five minutes.

 

After five minutes, I added the shrimp and, instead of the teriyaki sauce package that came with (mostly water and corn syrup), I added my own favorite stir fry sauce:

  • 2 tbsp powdered peanut butter
  • 1 tbsp water
  • 1 tbsp rice wine vinegar
  • 1 tbsp reduced sodium soy sauce
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/8 tsp ginger
  • 1/8 tsp red pepper flakes

I could almost eat this stuff with a spoon as soup; that’s how much I love it.

I covered the pot and let it simmer about 4-5 more minutes before removing it from the heat.

 

Delicious heap of veggies and shrimp, no matter what the picture looks like! I also had a piece of Dave’s delicious honey whole wheat bread on the side, to sop up the remaining peanut sauce.

 

As if I would let that go to waste. Pssht.

 

 

Leave a Comment

