I’m a Pat of Butter

As I mentioned before, I needed a test run in the running skirt and top I bought for my warrior costume. After hitting the snooze button twice to live in dream land, I finally rolled out of bed and into my gear. After wiping the sleep out of my eyes, I even managed to take a picture!

New running shoes!

The sunny day was waiting for me behind the curtains…although the sun is still awfully bright, the air is definitely hinting at fall.

 

It was a beautiful day for running, and I managed 3.1 miles in 30 minutes all while listening to my own mix I made for my friend’s cd exchange. Call me biased, but it is splendid, including Fiona Apple’s ‘Hot Knife’ off her new album. Running is so much fun with new music!

Verdict: Running skirts are much more comfortable than I thought they would be! I had to get a size small because they were out of mediums, so I can definitely stand to lose another five pounds for it to be a better fit. The shorts underneath were a bit tight after I sprinted the last three tenths of a mile for a decent time. But all in all, I found the running outfit to be quite satisfactory.

Unfortunately, I was not as happy with my new running shoes, Nike Initiators.

 

While my Asics feel like I’m running on a cloud, these feel like I’m running in…shoes. They aren’t horrible, but they just feel really hard on my feet. Now I’m bummed to give up my comfy running shoes in case these don’t work out…I may need to rethink the situation.

After I got home, it was time to contemplate breakfast. I have been wanting to go out for brunch for the last month now. Although I’ve never been a huge fan of breakfast food, even growing up, I’ve had a craving for classic diner food lately: blueberry pancakes, eggs, french toast, bacon, fruit cups, etc. After seeing a recipe for a banana oat pancake on Fit Mama Real Food, the other day, I decided it had been too long.

The basics:

  • 1 banana
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup oats

Additions:

  • blueberries
  • coconut oil
  • maple syrup
  • salt & cinnamon

Instructions:

Mash up a banana.

Stir in egg.

Mix in oats, followed by a pinch of salt and cinnamon.

In a small skillet, heat oil of choice. I sprayed my pan with nonstick olive oil spray, then put in a dab of coconut oil (which is supposedly ever so good for you and really tasty!)

Pour mixture into heated pan and top with blueberries, if desired.

Let cook for about four minutes before flipping.

Cook another three minutes after flipping.

Topped with a drizzle of maple syrup and more blueberries.

 

 

Ahhh…perfection. The coconut oil was a lovely addition, and the pancake was so sweet even without any added sugar. Though not nearly as fluffy as a regular pancake, the flavor was fantastic.

Here’s to a great Tuesday!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Comment

