Sunday Morning Coming Down

I was in a blue kind of mood this morning. Sundays can go either way for me–sometimes I am happy to have no plans and other times I get restless with a whole day in front of me and no prior obligations.

Fortunately, Dave had a cure for my restlessness after I finished reading The Perks of Being a Wallflower: a little retail therapy. I came home with these pretty new blue running shoes, which I found on sale for $42.88.

And a 99 cent battery-operated drink mixer.

Dave said, “Even if this only lasts tonight, I am perfectly satisfied.” We are both easily entertained!

It felt almost like fall today, and a cookout was a delightful option.

Turkey brats for him.

And Tofurkey brats for her.

The girl who checked us out commented on how weird these look–she doesn’t know what she’s missing! They don’t replace the flavor of a true brat, but they’re pretty good. And factory processed meat is weird no matter which way you slice it, meat or veggie-wise.

We used our terracotta flower pot to grill the brats.

Our side for the night was cooked inside– the Best Roasted Broccoli Ever. We actually had all the ingredients to make the real deal, so I didn’t have to revert to my ghetto roasted broccoli with dried basil and lemon juice. Score!

Broccoli might seem like an unusual side dish choice for brats, but when you love broccoli as much as Dave and I do and you have all the ingredients, it’s a no-brainer. So simple, yet so tasty.

  • 2 heads broccoli, cut into large florets
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 5 garlic cloves, sliced
  • salt and pepper
  • squeeze of fresh lemon juice (you can also add lemon zest if you like lemon)
  • parmesan cheese to taste
  • 5-6 fresh basil leaves sliced

 

Toss broccoli and garlic with olive oil salt and pepper. Bake in a 400 degree oven for 25 minutes, until broccoli tips and garlic start to turn brown.

Remove from oven, squeeze lemon juice over the top, and sprinkle on basil and parmesan cheese.

Besides the broccoli, we had some veggie chips we picked up at the grocery store.

Potato, tomato, and spinach.

We topped our brats with ketchup, mustard, and sauerkraut. It may have been an unusual combination of flavors, but dinner hit the spot.

 

Dave and I are eating while watching Hook tonight. Such a fun movie. I hope this week goes by slowly, because I need the time to prepare for Warrior Dash next weekend.

Bangarang!

 

 

 

Leave a Comment

