Back Again

My energy levels have been dangerously low lately. As such, I did the unthinkable–I took a three day break from exercising. Three days! I didn’t know if I could do it, but I did. My friend Lindsay told me sometimes a break is all you need to get a fresh, energetic start, particularly when it comes to running.

 

So this morning, I threw on a bandana (I have not found a perfect solution for exercising with short hair yet), laced up my shoes, and uploaded a new playlist on my Ipod.

My energy was back! I had the same old knee problems today along with a new one–sharp pain running up and down my spine (weird…), but I still managed to eek out 3.1 miles in 29 minutes, putting me under a ten minute mile this time. Yippee!

Breakfast this morning was a delicious fruit smoothie.

 

I used the rest of the plain Chobani (probably about 2 oz), some unsweetened vanilla almond coconut milk, frozen blueberries, strawberries, and mango chunks, and a heaping cup of spinach.

I am getting so particular about what kinds of things I like sweet. Of course desserts are a must, but I don’t care for sweetened applesauce, smoothies, or granola bars. These things just taste off to me when they have sugar added to them.

While consuming said smoothie with my newest Kindle book The Perks of Being a Wallflower, I heard a crash-bang-boom from my computer area. I should preface this story by saying that my cats, particularly Artemis, are obsessed with ribbon, tissue paper, and wrapping paper, which makes one of my favorite holiday to-do’s, gift wrapping, somewhat problematic.

My friend Amanda gave me a gift at the bridal shower, and the bag, complete with tissue paper and tied with a ribbon, had been sitting on my desk since Saturday. After I heard the crash, I ran over to see the damage: no cat in sight, just half the paper bag and the tissue paper, along with my camera and cell phone that he had knocked onto the floor.

Minutes later, I heard Arty loping towards me somewhat strangely, and I realized why I had found only half a paper bag–the other half was wrapped around his head and under his leg, causing him to walk like the Hunchback of Notre Dame. I couldn’t get a good picture, because he immediately fell on the floor and started flopping around.

Plus I was laughing so hard, I’m sure my hands were shaking.

 

Oh, yeah, I’m going to be a great mom someday.

I found the ribbon strewn in the hallway.

Today, I plan on shopping to complete my Warrior Dash costume–I intend to use Xena as my inspiration, and am planning on something along the lines of this using the running skirt I bought.

Here goes nothing!

 

 

 

Leave a Comment

