Girls Just Wanna Have Fun

One of the reasons I love my friend Emily is that she can go from a proper, tea-drinking lady….

To a babe out on the town in the same day.

Saturday morning, I headed out to my friend Dan’s parent’s house to set up for their future daughter-in-law Emily’s bridal shower, a tea party theme planned by her maid of honor, Amanda. A small group of us prepped food, washed dishes, and arranged flowers to create a beautiful afternoon for the lady of the day.

Amanda created a delicious tea cocktail with hibiscus berry tea and vodka.

And Emily’s mom Mary Sue unveiled the much-anticipated Texas Sheet Cake.

We laid out a spread of food consisting of Texas Sheet Cake squares, Lemon Bars, two kinds of scones, Earl Grey cookies, Goat Cheese & Cucumber Crackers, and Smoked Salmon & Candied Ginger Bagel Bites.

I was asked for the recipe for these little Earl Grey tea cakes by several people–they were so simple to make and made a great addition to our tea party!

Earl Grey Tea Cakes:
1 cup butter, softened
1/2 cup powdered sugar
2 1/4 cups flour
1 tsp Earl Grey tea
1/4 tsp salt

Glaze:
1 tsp Earl Grey tea
2 tbl hot milk
1 tbl butter
1/3 cup powdered sugar

Preheat oven to 350 degrees, Cream together butter and sugar.  In a separate bowl, combine bowl combine flour, tea and salt.  Gradually incorporate dry ingredients into butter mixture.  Roll dough into 1-inch balls.  Place on baking sheet and bake for 14-16 min.  Cool on rack.

*****

We wanted to offer our guests a selection of drinks, so in addition to serving hot Apricot Green tea, we also had iced Vanilla Mint Pu-erh, water with cucumber slices and mint leaves to add, an Orange Mint tea & juice combo, and the Hibiscus tea cocktail.

Tea party=dresses.

After nibbling and sipping on tea, we played the Famous Couples game. Each person gets a card on their back with one half of a famous couple, then has to find their other half. I think Barack and Michelle Obama won the day. I never did figure out that I was Eve. 😦

Afterwards, it was on to presents!

The house was such a beautiful location for the bridal shower. Em opened lots of lovely gifts to add to her home.

Emily and Dan like to cook, so they receive a lot of fun food-related gifts like a picnic set, a wine decanter, funky apron, canning jars, and wine glasses.

Dave and I adopted Emily and Dan an olive tree in Italy from nudo-italia.com. Next year, they will receive two shipments of olive oil produced from their very own tree. I read about this idea a few years ago and was so excited to share this unique gift with my very unique friends. 🙂

After a bit of clean-up, I headed back to my apartment to get ready for Em’s bachelorette party! The girls met me at my apartment so we could carpool and then we headed out to dinner.

Fortunately, we had a gang of adventurous eaters, so Taste of India, a quiet Indian restaurant, turned out to be a great place for us to start.

I ordered the Mushroom Jalfrazie, fresh mushrooms with green vegetables, onions, green peppers and green peas and Onion Naan bread. I ordered my main dish medium hot, because I like a little spice, and it turned out to be perfect. Everyone seemed to enjoy their food, and we ended up packing up half of each of our dishes to take home with us for later. Rice is filling!

After dinner, it was time to hit the bars and let loose.

Some boys take a beautiful girl

And hide her away from the rest of the world

I want to be the one to walk in the sun

Oh girls they wanna have fun

Yeah girls just wan to have fun

That’s all they really want

Some fun

When the working day is done

Girls, they want to have fun

Yeah, girls just want to have fun

Needless to say, we wanted to have fun, and we did. After the restaurant, we went to three bars, ending at a nightclub where we danced the night away. We headed back to my apartment afterwards to meet up with the boys of the bachelor party, and I finally headed to bed somewhere in the area of 5:00am.

In only a little over a month, we’ll get to have another crazy celebration for these two people–the wedding! I’m so excited.

Leave a Comment

