Sunday, Sunday

Another fun albeit exhausting weekend!

My friend John was generous enough to bequeath an extra bike of his to my husband Dave, which I was just as excited about as Dave was–I never get to exercise with a friend! I took advantage of our double bike ownership this morning when we took a 4.5 mile trek down the East River Trail together.

Looks like Dave had even more fun than I did!

We invited my family to a cookout at our apartment today, so I got to work using up the huge bag of red potatoes we had in our pantry to make German-ish Potato-ish Salad, courtesy of Hungry Girl with only a few modifications.

German-ish Potato-ish Salad

  • 1 head cauliflower, cored and roughly chopped
  • 10 oz baby red potatoes, chopped
  • 3 cups dry coleslaw mix
  • 1 cup chopped onion
  • 1/4 cup rice wine vinegar
  • 4 strips crumbled bacon (I used Morning Star brand)
  • 1 tbsp Miracle Whip
  • 1 tbsp Dijon Mustard
  • 1/2 tbsp. granulated sugar
  • 1/8 tsp. salt
  • Dash black pepper
  • 1/4 cup chopped scallions

Directions:
Place cauliflower and potatoes in a large microwave-safe bowl with 1/3 cup water. Cover and microwave for 6 minutes. Stir, re-cover, and microwave for 8 minutes, or until tender. Once cool enough to handle, drain excess water and set aside.

Meanwhile, bring a large skillet sprayed with nonstick spray to medium-high heat on the stove. Add coleslaw mix and onion.

Stirring frequently, cook until soft and slightly browned, about 8 minutes. Add contents of the skillet to the bowl with the cauliflower and potatoes. Set aside.

To make the dressing, combine all remaining ingredients except scallions in a microwave-safe bowl. Add 2 tbsp. water, stir, and microwave for 1 minute, or until warm. Mix thoroughly.

Add dressing to the large bowl with veggies and potatoes, and toss to coat. Add scallions, gently mix, and serve! (P.S. If you’re making this ahead of time, refrigerate and then warm it up just before serving.)

*****

Dave loves to stock the freezer when he finds great deals on meat, so today’s menu involved cleaning the freezer out and cooking ribs and duck.

The marinade for the duck was a favorite that we frequently use for chicken: low sugar marmalade, fresh rosemary, Z’atar, salt and pepper.

Dave made a dry rub for the ribs using a modified version of Alton Brown’s recipe.

I had put some local, free-range ground bison to thaw for our dinner on Friday…which we never used. Refreezing meat is a huge no-no so tonight was the perfect opportunity to use it up!

I mixed the pound of bison meat with 3 tbsp egg whites, 1/3 cup of plain breadcrumbs, fresh rosemary and Z’atar and cooked them on our mini flower pot grill while Dave used the large grill for the ribs and duck.

Wine, beer, good conversation, and laughter were had by all, especially by Baby A.

I had no complaints about my dinner tonight. Everything was so good.

I guess I’m more of a ‘flexitarian’ than a ‘humaneitarian’ now: I make exceptions for food I rarely get my mouth around, like ribs and duck. My bison burger was delicious, as was the German-ish Potato-ish Salad. Even Dave thought it was great, and he hates cauliflower. He grimaced when I put it in the cart this morning, but no complaints now. 🙂

I also had some of a great rice dish that my mom brought with strawberries and garbanzo beans–very inventive! I had another small plate with a bit more of the salads and made room for a Dave specialty: Banana Flambe!

Banans topped with granulated sugar, then fired until crispy.

My family has now left, and Dave and I have a few hours of the evening left since he has tomorrow off. I’ve been craving a John Wayne movie lately, so we’re going to snuggle up and watch The Cowboys. We’re so romantic.

Another week begins tomorrow!

2 thoughts on “Sunday, Sunday

  1. Pingback: Illgenstock Extravaganza 2013 | Designs on Dinner

  2. Pingback: Why We Spend a Lot of Money on Food | Designs on Dinner

Leave a Comment

