TLT–It’s Dynamite!

After a rubbish night’s sleep, I was up bright and early at 6:00am to exercise and, given the change in time, I thought I’d try a different workout that I found on Pinterest.

I used my computer to output this to the TV so I could watch it while listening to some new tunes from our CD exchange, courtesy of my friend Mariah (loved the mix!).

Was it effective?

Well, if sweat is any indication of effectiveness, then YES. This workout beat all of Jillian Michael’s 30 minute workouts in terms of difficulty. I actually had to stop to take water breaks for this one!

After showering, I spent 20 minutes blow drying, straightening, and gelling my hair for an interview today. You never get a second chance to make a first impression.

No breakfast today, because I wasn’t feeling the greatest. For some reason, I just can’t stomach food whenever I wake up at 6:00am or before–does any one else have this problem?

I was told the interview was going to take two hours, but I was done in thirty-five minutes, which gave me time to come home, unwind, and marinate some tempeh for dinner tonight. This is my first time trying tempeh, so I decided to do a TLT sandwich inspired by one of Heidi Swanson’s recipes but done my own way.

  • 2.5 oz tempeh, sliced
  • scant 1/4 cup vegetable broth
  • 2 tsp soy sauce
  • 2 tsp apple cider vinegar
  • 2 tsp liquid smoke
  • 1/2 tsp maple syrup
  • 1 tsp minced garlic

Cover tempeh with marinade mixture and let sit, refrigerated, for at least 20 minutes (I let mine sit all day, for about 8 hours).

Marinade adapted from: A Hungry Spoon

After work, my dinner was as simple as sauteing the tempeh over medium high heat for about 3-4 minutes per side.

I must admit, I was skeptical based on the appearance of the tempeh–it was kind of strange and lumpy, and definitely did not strike a fantastic pose for the camera.

 

The best way to cover up the weird appearance? Hide it inside bread!

Done. Topped with tomato, lettuce, and savory mushroom hummus.

With crunchy kale chips on the side. I fought with my oven a little bit tonight and ended up with slightly too-crunchy kale chips, but they were still a good side.

And the TLT? It was dynamite. The combination of the marinade and texture turned it into a sublime sandwich. I may just let tempeh into my life.

 

 

 

Leave a Comment

