♪ Mambo Italiano ♪

Have I been craving spaghetti since I’ve been drinking red wine, or have I been drinking red wine in an attempt to quell my cravings for spaghetti?

Either way, I can’t get enough of this Robert Mondavi Pinot Noir that Dave bought for me. Merlot used to be my favorite kind of wine, but I think this Pinot has overtaken it. I’ve had 1-2 glasses every night this week. I’m not worried because red wine, in moderation, is heart healthy! Hey, if the Mayo Clinic says it, it must be true.

Regardless, I decided tonight once and for all to get rid of my spaghetti craving. For some reason, every time I make pasta, I have Dean Martin’s version of Mambo Italiano running through my head. But I grew up in a household where every word was the start of a song, so can you blame me?

First, I julienned a medium zucchini to make zucsketti as my base.

I still haven’t quite got a feel for the mandolin yet, but I’m working on it. After I julienned the zucchini, I put it in a colander and tossed it with a sprinkling of salt and let it sit to extract excess water. After about 20 minutes, I blotted the zucchini to remove the water and some of the salt.

Meanwhile, I worked on my tomato sauce. Pasta sauce is so easy to make at home, albeit a bit time consuming.

First, I heated one tbsp of olive oil in a medium pan over medium-high heat, then sauteed one small chopped onion, two minced garlic cloves, and two chopped portabella caps for about ten minutes. Afterwards, I added a 14.5 oz can of diced tomatoes and an 8 oz can of tomato sauce. (I like my pasta sauces on the chunky side).

Halfway through my wine, the tomato sauce started to get blurry….I added a pinch of sugar, salt, pepper, basil, oregano, marjoram and reduced the heat to medium low to let it simmer.

I also cooked up a few ounces of whole grain spaghetti and used half an ounce myself to mix in with my zucsketti. The rest for Dave’s lunch tomorrow, because he’s not a fan of zucchini.

My pile of spaghetti topped with a bit of shredded Parmesan. It’s amazing how I don’t even miss the noodles–most of the ‘spaghetti’ flavor is in the tomato sauce and cheese for me. Those who are used to meaty sauces might feel differently.

I had two tiny pieces of sprouted grain toast on the side to sop up my delicious tomato sauce. I guess I prefer my carbs in bread form to noodle form.

Off to finish my Pinot Noir–♪ It’s a like a vino! ♪

 

One thought on “♪ Mambo Italiano ♪

Leave a Comment

