Weekend of Indulgence

There’s a fine line between ‘indulgence’ and ‘overindulgence,’ and last weekend certainly bordered on the latter. Good food, drinks, and sweets were consumed in excess and with no exercise despite a brief stint of lawn dancing to Solace, I was definitely ready to go back to my regular routine.

My internet was down yesterday, which gave me time to relax after the fun and exhausting festivities of the weekend which started Friday after work.

Dave picked up sushi for a quick dinner. Grocery store sushi is getting better and better! These rolls were all delicious.

We drove out to the Illgen family farm soon after. I had a beer in hand in preparation for the blessing of the kegs.

Bill read an old blessing while we all linked arms, then toasted each other.

Moriah and I took a quick picture by the light of the silvery moon before Dave and I headed back home.

Saturday morning I finished burning my CDs for our Music Exchange. My list was kind of a quirky mix including artists like Fiona Apple, Flogging Molly, and Less than Jake.

After labeling the CDs, I mixed up my couscous salad, and we headed to the country again mid-afternoon for the fun to begin. And so it did.

 

Bill made a delicious vegetarian option of roasted eggplant and tomatoes, which I stuck inside a hamburger bun to get the picnic-style feel with my salads.

 

I think this is Dave’s fourth Illgenstock! He seems to enjoy it. ๐Ÿ™‚

My sister Emily brought my niece Aurelia decked out in sunglasses and classy pink chucks. She was definitely ready to rock and roll.

Time for music! The first guy, Kevin, played his guitar behind his head for one song. Crazy.

I had a great time talking to old high school friends, my favorite usual gang, and some new friends! It was Tiffany’s first year at Illgenstock, and I’m pretty sure she had as much fun as the rest of us.

Sadly, the third band, Solace, had their performance cut short by the rain. That didn’t stop us from having a bonfire, though!

Nor did it stop us from jumping in the pool. My count this year was three times.

After a quick change of clothes for me, my friends met in the shed to complete our CD exchange–I received nine cds with new music I’m eager to listen to. In fact, I’m listening to one as I type this.

One of the last pictures of the night. We’re all blurry, which is how most of us felt at this point. As usual, Illgenstock was over too quickly, but I had a great time. I slept on the floor in my parent’s tea room for about six hours, then had a delicious breakfast including a veggie omelet topped with salsa, potatoes, and a piece of multigrain toast with nutella. Nom nom nom.

Then it was back to the city to celebrate my Aunt Dina’s birthday!

My brother Tyler grilled hamburgers, veggie burgers, and portabella caps.

Me with the birthday girl! Both of us look okay considering the lack of sleep from the night before….

I had a portabella cap with cheese, sauteed onions, tomato, and lettuce on a whole wheat bun. Couscous salad and pasta salad. And a big ‘ol hunk of watermelon.

My sisters made a beautiful and delicious lemon poppyseed Croc cake! (My Aunt Dina loves to wear Crocs)!

The last two days I have biked, done Ripped in 30, had a second phone interview, and am going to see Moonrise Kingdom with my sister Moriah, all while I remember how to write a cohesive blog post again.

It has certainly been too long.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Weekend of Indulgence

Leave a Comment

