Moonrise Peppers

One of my birthday gifts this year was a gift card to Marcus Theatres, and I decided to use it today to see a movie I’d only heard about from my sister–Moonrise Kingdom.

Since Moriah was the one excited about the newest Wes Anderson film, it was only right I take her with me.

 

I loved it.

Funny, whimsical, and visually intriguing, I especially enjoyed the casting with favorites such as Bill Murray, Bruce Willis, and the brilliant Edward Norton as Scout Master Ward.

You have to be the right kind of person to enjoy a Wes Anderson film, but this one was right up my alley.

Since I got home early, I was able to make a slow-cooked dish that has slipped out of my menu as of late: stuffed peppers.

Stuffed peppers are a favorite, because they sky is the limit when it comes to fillings. Today I chose wild rice, portabella mushrooms, and onions. They did not disappoint.

  • 2 ginormous green peppers
  • 1 cup wild rice, cooked in vegetable broth
  • 3 portabella caps, diced
  • 1 medium onion, diced
  • 1/4 cup diced green onions
  • 1 tbsp minced garlic
  • 2 tbsp freshly chopped basil
  • 1 oz feta, crumbled
  • salt & pepper
  • 1 tbsp olive oil

Since I had such a lovely experience freezing rice last time, I cooked a big batch of wild rice and froze about three cups of it, separating them into individual snack size bags to freeze. An easy addition for future dinners.

Heat a medium skillet over medium high heat, then add the olive oil. Allow the oil to heat slightly, then sautee the portabellas and onions for about eight minutes before stirring in the minced garlic, basil, salt, and pepper.

Dave said it smelled like ravioli. I have no problem with that.

Although I generally have a heap of ‘stuffing’ left over, tonight’s mixture fit perfectly inside the stuffed peppers. Just like magic!

 

Bake, covered at 350 degrees for about 35 minutes. Top with cheese and bake uncovered for about 10 more minutes.

It’s like a present! I wonder what’s inside?

Oh yeah, food. I’m up for that.

I took a poll on Facebook for my next show to watch, and Breaking Bad ruled. Here I go!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Comment

