Highbrow Humpday

I forgot how long it takes to get my hair cut at a highbrow salon! I went into Indira in Green Bay at noon.

Because I’m frugal (yeah, you know that already), I set up my appointment with a junior stylist, the cheapest of the bunch. I went into the salon looking like this:

And came out an hour and fifteen minutes later looking like this:

I’m digging the new cut so far. My head feels so much lighter, and I will have so much less hair to clean up in the shower. The woman who cut my hair, Nikki, was fantastic; she was quite the perfectionist and spent nearly thirty minutes making sure my hair was evenly textured.

She also gave me a hand, neck, and scalp massage. I’m not a huge fan of massages, but it did feel really nice. Since I used a gift card, she got a handsome tip. I may be frugal, but I’m an excellent tipper. 🙂

After I left the salon, I headed to my favorite coffee shop, Kavarna, to meet my friend Lindsay for coffee and lunch.

Lindsay pointed out that our haircuts are nearly the same now–fellow warriors, take note. I ordered one of my favorites for lunch, the Grilled Vegetable Pita with fruit instead of chips. Iced coffee on the side.

I think I’ve had nearly everything on the menu so far, and this pita remains a wonderful standby. The fluffy, chewy pita filled with squash, peppers, mushrooms and red onions sauteed in a grapeseed oil vinaigrette always delivers.

After going to a salon and out for lunch, I felt like quite the lady of leisure. The rest of the afternoon was spent running a few errands, spot cleaning, and building a playlist for a CD exchange my friends and I are doing this weekend.

I fired up the grill at 6:30pm to prepare the next dinner on my list: Grilled Chicken and Peach Salad. But I switched it up by adding a grilled avocado to make it more awesome.

Look at those delicious fruits just waiting to be grilled. Summer is the best season, no ifs, ands or buts about it.

Grilled Chicken, Peach, and Avocado Salad (Serves 2)

  •  8 oz boneless, skinless chicken tenders (humane certified for me!)
  • 2 small peaches,  halved and pitted
  • 1/2 avocado
  • 1/2 tbsp whole grain mustard
  • 1/2 tbsp balsamic vinegar
  • 1/2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 oz feta, crumbled
  • 4 cups romaine
  • salt & pepper to taste
Coat chicken with cooking spray and season with salt and pepper. Grill chicken, turning once, until it reaches an internal temperature of 165 degrees.

Coat peaches and avocado with cooking spray; lay skin side up on grill grates; grill, turning once, until juicy but not mushy, about 5-8 minutes.

In a large bowl, whisk mustard, vinegar, oil, and one tbsp of water. Toss with romaine. Divide romaine among two plates. Slice chicken, peaches, and avocado and distribute. Top with crumbled feta cheese.

Inspired by: Self

A salon haircut, lunch out, and a dinner fit for a queen? Sometimes I just can’t get over how fancy I am.

 

Leave a Comment

