Cheer Up!

On the drive home from work, I had a mini conversation with myself, as I often do.

“Hmmm. Should I work out when I get home?”

“Yes. You need to keep lifting weights to keep your arm strength up. And if you want to lose those five pounds…”

“But I went running this morning!”

“That was nearly twelve hours ago. And you hated it.This will be fun!”

“Fun?”

“Well, you won’t want to slide down a cheese grater naked. Just do it.”

I listened to the tougher version of myself and did 30 minutes of 30 Day Shred when I got home.

Technically it was Level 1, but I added weights and amped up the lesser cardio with some of my own to make it worth my while. And you know what? I didn’t regret it.

I’ve been really fantastic about kicking myself when I’m down lately. About my extra layer of chub, my lack of endurance, and my lack of self-control.

But then I remember how many people have told me how much I inspire them, and I think “Okay, maybe I do eat too much gelato and frozen yogurt, but I also got up at 7:00am this morning to go running. If that’s not inspiring for at least my past self, I don’t know what is.”

Onto the dinner portion of the evening, I stuck to my menu of Morning Star Turkey Burgers and Roasted Zucchini Fries.

This was extremely easy to pull together after my post-work workout when I didn’t feel like cooking.

I wasn’t feeling the grains tonight, so I topped my burger with cheese, sauteed mushrooms, ketchup and mustard, and served it over a bed of romaine.

My zucchini fries were tossed in olive oil, garlic salt, cumin, and pepper, and roasted in the oven at 350 degrees for 25 minutes. Watermelon slice for my ‘something sweet.’ This is another perfect melon, fresh and juicy instead of grainy like the last one.

Tonight, I’m going to go to bed and wake up with a positive attitude. You know why?

Because this isn’t me.

And if that’s not worth celebrating, I don’t know what is.

Leave a Comment

