Rest is Best

I slept so well last night that my 8:00am alarm was immediately reset to 8:45. It has been a week since my last rest day, after all. And I can definitely a day to clear my head after my unsatisfactory run yesterday morning.

What time of day do you work out (if you work out)? I used to exercise after work, but in the last year, morning exercise has been my preference. I happened across a Jillian Michaels quote on Facebook yesterday that I thought was interesting regarding what time of day is best for exercise.

“Studies show that your body gets accustomed to exercise at a certain time of day and in response releases adrenaline and testosterone at that time. These hormones help your muscles process energy more efficiently leading to increased strength and power – ultimately improving your workout, boosting your calorie burn and amping your metabolism. So the best time of day to train is THE SAME TIME OF DAY. Consistency is key!”

Thanks, Jillian!

The French press I received for my birthday from my mum and dad turned out some delicious cold-pressed coffee this morning.

I’ve now used it for hot coffee, cold coffee, and tea, and I can definitely say the flavor is much more rounded out with the coffee than in my coffee pot. A great gift, indeed.

For breakfast, I decided on two things I haven’t had in a very long time: a fried egg on toast and an orange. I don’t know why it’s been so long since I’ve had oranges in the house, but I’ve missed their sweet citrus flavor.

I sauteed some spinach with minced garlic to go with my fried egg, and it was scrumptious.

Last night I decided that, in an effort to use the produce and other groceries we bought in a timely manner, I would make a menu. For a brief time, my Mom used to make menus when we were young, and it really helped with the grocery shopping and made us feel special that we got to pick our own meal during the week, like tacos or pizza.

There really is no reason for me to ever make a menu, because Dave and I don’t eat dinner together during the week, but I thought I would give it a shot this week, so I don’t have to throw any produce away.

Monday: Shrimp & Watermelon Skillet
Tuesday: Morning Star Turkey Burgers & Roasted Zucchini Fries
Wednesday: Grilled Chicken & Peach Salad
Thursday: Tikka Masala & Spiced Green Pea Rice (boxed entree from Target)
Friday will most likely be a grilling day with Davy so I will tentatively say elk burgers, brussels sprouts and sweet potatoes on the grill. Because that sounds like us. 🙂

Now let’s see if I can actually stick to this…

2 thoughts on “Rest is Best

Leave a Comment

