Pizza Party for Two

This terracotta flower pot grill was Dave’s brainchild for a small, portable grill we could bring with us to parks, etc. on weekends. I don’t remember the last time I saw him get so excited about anything. And I must admit, though not portable enough for my taste, it is pretty nifty.

What will he think of next? At least after tonight’s usage, we know it works well.

For the first time possibly ever, Dave and I used store-bought whole wheat pizza crusts for a grilled pizza dinner. Dave prepped the veggies (while I lifted weights and looked at Pinterest 🙂 ), then I assembled two identical veggie pizzas.

Toppings included fresh mozzarella, garlic and herb feta, parmesan, tomatoes, olives, artichokes, hot banana peppers, sauteed mushrooms, and spinach, in addition to my classic pizza herbs and spices combo: basil, oregano, thyme, marjoram, fennel, and red pepper flake.

The pizzas baked in this bee hive-shaped grill for about ten minutes each before the crust got golden brown.

After we pulled the pizzas and I put them in the oven on warm, Dave called from outside “perfect marshmallow coals!” so I grabbed our last three marshmallows and a skewer.

Who says you can’t have dessert before dinner?

My intense marshmallow roasting face turned out these beauties:

 

There’s nothing quite like roasted marshmallows in the summer time.

Dinner was served with a side of Good Eats.

The pizza crust didn’t win our favor (homemade is so much better!) but the delicious combination of cheeses and veggies made up for it.

Leave a Comment

