Il Buono, Il Cattivo, Il Brutto

The Good: I run an eight minute mile.

I ran with a pedometer on my trail for the first time ever today, and I was shocked when I timed myself at an eight minute mile. I never brought a watch with me before and always assumed I was running at least an 11 minute mile or so, given how slow I felt I was going.

I am fully aware that an eight minute mile is never going to break any records, but given the fact that I was never even able to run a full mile in high school, I’m counting it as a personal win.

The Bad: My hatred for running is leaking into my endurance.

I only made it a mile straight today before I stopped to walk. I was so frustrated with myself that my eyes started watering, and it took everything I had to keep myself together. Why oh why is running so hard for me? Doesn’t working out every single day have any bearing on my energy levels for running?

Apparently not.

The Ugly: I don’t know if I can do Warrior Dash.

How is someone who can’t even run more than two miles yet in one go supposed to run 3.31 miles in a little over a month?

I can’t give up. I won’t give up. But I am definitely jaded.

While I tried to think of a plan to make myself enjoy running, I made myself a bowl of cereal.

  • 1/2 cup Fiber One cereal
  • 1 banana, sliced
  • 2/3 cup unsweetened vanilla almond coconut milk
  • sprinkling of granola

It was buono.

Leave a Comment

