From Sea to Shining Sea

There’s only one way to work out when the heat index is past 100 degrees.

Chelsea Version 1.0 (smile not included)

In as few clothes as possible.

And there’s only one way to spend your Independence Day when it’s bloody hot enough to cook eggs on the sidewalk.

At the beach.

Our favorite Sunday hang out was frequented by many more the occasional rollerblader or biker passing by. The beaches of Lake Michigan aren’t Coney Island quite yet, but they’re one step closer.

The usually frigid lake breeze was much warmer than usual, and the generally ice cold water was practically tepid by normal standards. A perfect day for a dip!

Given the fact that we had spent the entire weekend grilling out over a hot fire, no one was in the mood for hamburgers and hotdogs. Still, I figured we couldn’t get more American than pre-packaged food, so I stopped at the grocery store beforehand to pick up sandwich fixin’s and some crudites.

Veggie sandwich with spinach, tomatoes, pickles, avocado, hummus, and soy ‘turkey’ meat on a wheat club bun. Grapes and fruit salad. Creamy Roasted Garlic Sun Chips. Veggies with hummus.

Delightful, delicious, and so little work. My mouth hurt after chewing on hard veggies and chips so I switched to a liquid diet.

Beer: it’s like bread in a bottle!

It was a lovely day of relaxation and hanging out with the fam (minus my Dave who had to work), including our very own mini Popeye….

Look at the biceps on that babe! I have a lot of work to do to catch up.

The crowds started trickling in to see the fireworks just as we were leaving. I think this guy got the best view of the lights over the water.

Of course we stopped for ice cream on the way home. And of course I nommed it so fast I forgot to take a picture.

So imagine this if you will: graham cracker flavored ice cream with chocolate cookie chunks and real graham pieces swirled into a creamy, icy mess. My (lack of) wisdom teeth did not thank me for the cone, but my stomach did.

And that, my friends, is how an Irish-German-Scottish-English-French-American (is that right?) gal celebrates Independence Day.

Leave a Comment

