Cabin Weekend Recap, Part 4

Monday:

I woke up at 8:00am Monday morning, just four minutes past the time I made my presence in the world. I came downstairs to this, the sign which could only be the handiwork of my mother, and some fresh-picked flowers by my sister Emily.

When I walked onto the porch, Mom had a sparkler in my coffee mug (we have mugs up at the cabin with our names on them to keep track), and everyone who was awake sang ‘Happy Birthday’ to me.

Enjoying hot coffee and a mimosa with a beautiful view was a perfect way to start the day. It was a part-lazy, part-productive morning as we waited for breakfast and started cleaning up our belongings to go home. Aurelia told us exactly what needed to be done. 🙂

Mom was in charge of breakfast (Dad promised to clean up), and I asked her to make her baked french toast, as I’ve never had it before.

Complete with a fresh fruit medley, whipped cream, and Michigan maple syrup and served with a side of hashbrowns and vegetarian sausage. The baked french toast was so good. I can’t remember the last time I had it, but  it must have been years ago when I worked at a restaurant in high school.

After we had the cars all packed up, the floor swept and vacuumed, and the doors locked, we said goodbye to the cabin and headed to Sand Lake for one last swim.

This is one of my favorite lakes to swim at up north, but we rarely go because it is usually so packed. Not so on a Monday afternoon! We had the beach all to ourselves for most of the time we were there.

We stopped for ice cream on the way home (Toasted Almond Fudge in a sugar cone for me), and then began the slow journey back home.

In case you haven’t gathered from my writing, I am a sensitive person. I love things hard, and I fall hard. Such was the case on this day. I hate coming home from vacation, but I hated coming home even more on my birthday.

Instead of celebrating with family and friends that night, I spent the night home alone (Dave had to go to bed for work the next morning) with a gin and tonic, eating a piece of cake all by myself. The sad picture was not lost on me.

Fortunately, I had the memory of three beautiful days up at the cabin to satiate me from becoming too sad. Another year has past, and I can’t wait to see what the future brings to me.

Leave a Comment

