Cabin Weekend Recap, Part 3

Sunday:

Another early morning for me. I was up about quarter to 8:00am, and after a cup of coffee, I knew this was my morning to run. My brother and sister (also future warriors) had also expressed interest in a morning run, but Tyler had been up later than me, and I just couldn’t bring myself to wake up Emily.

Come on, could you?

I stuffed some gauze in the back of my mouth to prevent any bleeding, took the $11 pedometer I bought at Target, and headed down the driveway.

Given the massive amounts of trees, there was shockingly little shade cover on the dusty gravel roads. As soon as I hit the end of the road, I trucked it back to the cabin, clocking in 2.67 miles (I stopped to walk probably a mile in between) in about 25 minutes. Not terrible, given the circumstances. After a few more cups of coffee on the porch, time for breakfast!

My Aunt Colleen and cousin Jake made breakfast burritos with scrambled egg beaters, chickpea patties, sauteed onions and peppers, salsa, cheese, and sour cream.

I also made a humaneitarian exception for bacon wrapped, goat cheese stuffed dates. Because if you’re going to make an exception, it should probably be for bacon, right? With some fresh fruit on the side, I was all set to go.

The boys needed a bit more of a refresher to wake up.

There’s nothing quite like a brain freeze to get you going in the morning.

I knew I wanted a day devoted to hiking. My Dad finds the most beautiful places, so we put the reins in his hands to take us to a cool trail. Unfortunately, the beautiful place he picked involved a terribly long time in the car–over an hour each way.

But it was nearly lovely enough to make up for it.

The entire time we walked, I had the song from Stand By Me stuck in my head: ♫ Have gun will travel reads the card of a man, a knight without armor in a savage land. ♫

This girl didn’t complain a bit.

Not everyone was chipper about the long hike or car ride, but we all managed pretty well.

I managed exceptionally well, because I had my trusty camera to take beautiful pictures along the way. I know some people think taking photos is tacky because they can rely on ‘mental images.’ I don’t.

My brother was on deck as Camp Cook Sunday night and he rose to the occasion with four different pizzas.

Veggie pizza with peppers, onions, olives, and mozzarella.

My personal favorite: sweet potato and kale with rosemary.

A Thai chicken pizza with peanut sauce, carrots, and fresh cilantro.

And a meat pizza with peppers, onions, pepperoni, chicken, and mozzarella.

My plate, plus two more pieces after. Running and hiking make for a hungry woman!

One thing is for certain: there is no shortage of good cooks in my family.

Leave a Comment

