Always Look on the Bright Side

To say today did not go as expected is an understatement. But no one likes a whiner, so, in attempts to cheer myself up, I will try to put a positive spin on everything that happened to me today.

Last night, I woke up multiple times with searing pain in my jaw and finally got up at 7:00am with a swollen face.

I already have a round face, but now I look like the Stay Puft Marshmallow Man.

The Dark Side: I had to make a dentist appointment.

The Bright Side: I called at 8:00am, and they had an opening today at 9:30am. Sweet! I even got to enjoy two cups of coffee before I left.

The Dark Side: Because of my appointment, I had to go running later in the day when it was much hotter and the trail more populated with kids out of school for the summer.

The Bright Side: I ran 2 miles without stopping! The pain from running distracted me from the pain in my mouth, so I just kept trucking.

The Dark Side: I have three erupted wisdom teeth which need to be removed immediately if I want any semblance of relief. I had to set up oral surgery for tomorrow at 9:30am, and I elected to have it without anesthesia so I wouldn’t have to make anyone take off work as well as to save money. The entire process is going to be painful, expensive, and dampen my birthday weekend a bit.

The Bright Side: I have an extra day off of work and get to spend time recovering in one of my favorite places in the world.

The Dark Side: You’re not going to see any fantastic meals from me in the next few days, as I will most likely be consuming only applesauce, V8, cottage cheese, scrambled egg whites, and ice cream. (Case in point: food consumed today included greek yogurt, applesauce, and pureed vegetables).

The Bright Side: I am prepping for cabin weekend and should have plenty of recipes to share in advance of my break!

My family has elected to each be responsible for one meal (breakfast or dinner) and snacks for lunch. We will probably be hiking, fishing, and swimming during the day, so I wanted to pack some healthy snacks—like homemade granola bars!

Healthy Granola Bars

  • 1 1/2 cups puffed wheat cereal
  • 1 1/2 cup Fiber One
  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup
  • 1 tbsp stevia
  • splash of vanilla
  • pinch of salt
  • pinch of cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup creamy peanut butter (I used Powdered)
  • Optional Mix Ins: shredded coconut, chocolate chips, cocoa powder, almonds, dried fruit, etc.

Inspired by: Homemade ‘Fit’ Granola Bars 

Place the cereal in a large ziplock bag and lightly crush with a rolling pin.

Add cereal to a large mixing bowl, followed by oats, syrup, honey, peanut butter, stevia, vanilla, salt, and cinnamon. Mix thoroughly.

Stir in all your optional mix ins. I made two batches: the first one included 1/4 cup of unsweetened shredded coconut and 2 tbsp mini semi-sweet chocolate chips, the second batch included 1/4 cup of dried cranberries, and 2 tbsp chopped almonds.

Press into a greased 8X8 baking pan.

Bake at 375 for about 20-25 minutes. Use a spatula to separate.

(212 calories per bar)

The Dark Side: Even though I cut the baking time down considerably from the instructions, the corners of my granola bars burned.

The Bright Side: I broke off a smidge, and they still tasted pretty good. (Never mind the fact that I killed my mouth trying to eat that piece.)

I’m keeping my fingers crossed for myself that I will heal quickly, because I want to enjoy my weekend as much as I can. And that includes eating real, crunchy food!

2 thoughts on “Always Look on the Bright Side

  1. Oh no! That looks terribly painful. Is that your actual x-ray? Good luck! Make sure Dave buys you a good variety of yummy ice cream!

    • It is not my actual x-ray (I didn’t get prints), but very similar to it. I actually got to see them all, which was cool. I already stocked my freezer with Stonyfield Frozen Chocolate Greek Yogurt!

Leave a Comment

