Summer Lovin’

It’s no secret that I love the summer. Today I drove to and from work in a long sleeve black shirt. It was 90 degrees, and my car has no air conditioning. I didn’t mind. I will gladly soak up every last bit of sunshine and heat that the sun bestows upon the fickle Midwest.

Do you hear that, sun? (Now I feel like Lieutenant Dan. I better not tempt Mother Nature.) Today is the first real day of summer–how are you celebrating?

I’m celebrating with…

A dirty Tanqueray martini. Shaken, not stirred. (Thus the cloudiness).

A MorningStar 1/4 lb burger with Spicy Red Pepper hummus and a tomatillo slice on a whole wheat bun. Best on the grill but still pretty delicious out of the oven.

And one of my favorite sides ever: Ghetto Roasted Broccoli. I fall more in love with this broccoli every time I eat it. When I have fresh basil handy, I will definitely revert back to the Best Ever Roasted Broccoli.

The sun has gone to bed, so I’m finishing celebrating my first night of summer with one of my favorite shows, Gilmore Girls. Don’t be scared of the word “girls” in the title. Trust me on this one, folks.

2 thoughts on “Summer Lovin’

  1. Check out Bunheads from ABC family. I was skeptical but it gives you the Gilmore Girls dialogue feel, and some of the extras are the same! Same writer as GG.

Leave a Comment

