Marshmallow Legs

Everyone has a party of their body they hate. Or 12. This seems to be much more prevalent among women where an extra layer of fat everywhere we don’t want it seems to be rationalized by our body’s preparation for children.

With all the amazing things our bodies are capable of, you’d think the female body could just obtain and release those extra protective layers around the time period of child-bearing instead of our whole lives. Of course, some girls are lucky and seem to maintain a thin frame whether or not they have children. Others of us have to work non-stop to combat our unfortunately slow metabolism. Hem, hem.

I’ll take those, please! Oh, and the shorts.

There are a lot of parts of my body I’m not a fan of but summer seems to draw attention to one I keep covered up all winter: my legs. As soon as I neared my teeny bopper years, I grew to hate shorts. Standing was fine, but as soon as I sat down, my thighs pooled out around me. I always tried to have a pillow near to cover up my marshmallow legs.

With the invention of capris, I was saved. I remember explaining to my brother why capris were not stupid, but rather a genius invention by a woman who wanted to enjoy the summer sun yet cover up the part of her legs that were unfortunately non-muscular.

This morning was much too hot for my workout capris as I did Level 1 of Six Week Six Pack, so I put on my running shorts.

While I was Long Lever Crunching it up, I realized: my legs aren’t jiggling very much. In fact…they look pretty good. Einstein would not be proud at my revelation but here it goes: this morning, I didn’t hate my legs.

No, they’re not thin, long, and fabulous. My thighs still leave something to be desired. But they’re strong. And that’s what I’ve been working for. Being comfortable in my own skin is something I have been working on as long as I can remember. This morning’s revelation brought me one step closer and called for a celebration: a Hot Apple Pie Smoothie, courtesy of Mama Pea.

Streusel Topping

  • 2 tbsp rolled oats
  • 1 tbsp unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon

Combine all ingredients and microwave for 25 seconds. Set aside.

Smoothie

  • 1 apple, peeled, cored, chopped, and microwaved for 30 seconds
  • 1/2 cup plain, non-fat greek yogurt
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 2 tbsp stevia
  • pinch of salt
  • 8 ice cubes

Blend until smooth. Top with streusel topping.

Let the flavor of an icy Thanksgiving dessert explode in your mouth as you think about all the things you love about yourself. Including your ambition to make yourself a killer breakfast instead of pouring yourself a bowl of cereal.

Leave a Comment

