Friday Night Firelight

Dave and I originally toyed with the idea of driving down to his parents’ house tonight, but since he spent 13 hours in a car today, and I didn’t get home until nearly 8pm, we decided to head out tomorrow morning instead.

And, since it’s Friday, it has become almost a house that we grill out. This gave us a good chance to clean some of the fresh veggies out of fridge before we leave. I hate throwing away food!

I chopped up some broccoli, cauliflower, carrots, sweet peppers, portabella caps, a tomatillo, and some kale to stir fry. I tossed the veggies with sesame oil, rice wine vinegar, soy sauce, ginger, onion flakes, and garlic. It smelled incredible! I definitely think ginger is underutilized in our household.

On the side, I cut up three potatoes: one red, one russet, one sweet.

I sprayed these with olive oil spray and sprinkled on some salt, pepper, garlic, and parsley.

Grilling took no time at all–probably because I was inside chopping while Dave was tending to the beautiful fire.

How 50’s housewife of me.

I cut the potatoes so small that they were done in about 15 minutes.

Then we took the grates off the grill and set the wok right on the coals to stir fry. I think that was another crazy Alton Brown idea that Dave learned.

It works splendidly! The coals were dying a bit, so the stir fry took a bit longer than normal. After the stir fry was done, I made up a plate for each of us. My plate was prettier. 🙂

I think I would have traded all my potatoes for more veggies–they were that good. I really love the toasty, nutty flavor that sesame oil gives off; it’s phenomenal.

Hopefully we’ll get to bed a bit early tonight to be ready for our trip to Illinois tomorrow. I’m so excited to see the Dowe clan and see Jacqui and Terry get married, not to mention having three whole days off with Dave. Splendid.

Leave a Comment

