Chip Off the Old Kale

Last night, Dave and I discussed our late-night snacking habits. It seems we both have the same problem where relaxing at the end of the night, especially when by the TV, seems to call for a bowl of something crunchy. Pretzels, cereal, popcorn, and nuts are my nemesis.

The problem isn’t the type of food, it’s the quantity. I am a volume eater and like to get the most out of what I’m eating. (One reason why I love sink salads–you get a huge portion for not a lot of calories). I was ecstatic to find a lone vendor at the Farmer’s Market last night selling just what I was looking for…kale.

Kale chips seem to be another foodie staple I have not yet tried. Crispy, crunchy, chip-tasting greens dipped in ketchup? Time to hop on that bandwagon!

The kale chips were my main source of veggies tonight, so I used a heaping portion for my lone self.

  • 4 cups kale, stems removed and torn into pieces
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • garlic salt, cumin, and pepper to taste

Toss kale in olive oil and seasonings. Bake at 300 degrees for 15-20 minutes, rotating once.

They were light, crispy, crunchy, and almost melted in my mouth. I could definitely eat a chip-bag serving of them. The seasonings were spot on, too.

On the side, I had a portabella mushroom burger topped with tomato basil feta and served with the rest of my pickled veggies.

All in all, a very satisfying dinner. And kale chips will definitely be on the menu again.

2 thoughts on “Chip Off the Old Kale

  1. I recently made kale chips. I don’t know if they can replace potato chips, but they were great as an alternative to more starch and a fun veggie.

Leave a Comment

