Gearing Up

Why is Monday so far from Friday but Friday so close to Monday?

Summer is a funny season in the Midwest. We have so little time with warm weather that we pack as many events as we can into the summer, barely giving ourselves the time to breathe, relax, and have a truly relaxing weekend.

I have so many things planned for the upcoming weeks that I don’t even dread the rolling around of Monday. After all, a week of work is what makes the summer a little bit longer than otherwise. On the docket for this upcoming weekend: a visit to Illinois for a wedding of one of Dave’s friends and to visit with his family whom we haven’t seen since Christmas!

I spent very little time sleeping this weekend in order to get the most out of my days, so when the alarm went off at 7:45 this morning, I decided to forgo exercise in exchange for a little extra sleep. Who says Monday can’t be a rest day? Instead I woke up, showered, and poured myself a glass of iced coffee Dave made for me last night.

Chocolate Covered Cherry. If that doesn’t make a Monday morning easier, I don’t know what will.

And a breakfast I haven’t had in ages.

Toasted whole wheat bun with peanut butter, bananas, and cinnamon sprinkled on top.

I plan to go running the next two mornings, because I really have to amp up my running routine if I want to get ready for Warrior Dash. I can’t believe it’s only two months away!

Leave a Comment

