The Meat Sweats

I became a humaneitarian on March 18th. That means for nearly three months, the only kind of meat I’ve been including in my diet has had to be humane-certified. And, given the elevated price of grass-fed beef and other such animals, that means I’ve only eaten Just Bare chicken on several occasions.

With meals like Thai Tofu Peanut Stir Fry, Mango Avocado Grilled Cheese Sandwiches, Mediterranean Pizza, and Black Bean Taco Salad, I can go days without missing meat. But every once in awhile, the craving hits. And even though I love chicken, sometimes it just doesn’t cure a meat craving. Last night, I broke down a took a hunk off Dave’s turkey sub. And it was amazing.

I only feel a little guilty for my slip-up. After all, I’m human, and I didn’t become an ethical carnivore because I don’t like the taste of meat. I love it. But I find veggies, fruits, and other proteins to be just as satisfying. Most of the time. But after that turkey bite last night, the floodgates opened.

Today I headed to the store and spent $7.25 on what I knew would be a ridiculously awesome dinner treat.

Local, grass-fed, humane-certified ground beef. Because everything tastes better on the grill. And that includes burgers.

Before I enjoyed the first meat I’ve had in three months, I spent time with my family on the shores of Lake Michigan.

It was 91 degrees in Green Bay, but the air in Manitowoc was cool and breezy. Dave and I both had to don sweatshirts as soon as we stepped out of the car!

That didn’t stop me from dipping my toes in the water.

Dinner was a simple affair.

Pasta salad with chipotle mayo, potatoes and brussel sprouts, my broccoli slaw (which was all eaten–yay!), and the aforementioned burger, topped with mozzarella, red onions, and pesto. I had extra helpings of the sides after this plate.

 

And the burger? It was everything I hoped it would be and more.

 

Leave a Comment

