Inspired by the Tuscan Sun

It’s a good thing I’ve been reading Under the Tuscan Sun in the bath–I spend half my time washing drool off my face after reading about the food and way of life in Italy.

A memoir sprinkled with descriptions and recipes for such delicacies as toasted hazelnut gelato, fried olives stuffed with pancetta and spicy breadcrumbs, and sage stuffed pork loin, this is definitely a book for people who love both reading and fine eating.

The author reminded me that recipes do not have to be complicated or contain dozens of different components to be good; just a few good and flavorful ingredients can make a meal.

After tasting the fantastic yet simple zucchini salad my sister Emily made the other night (zucchini, breadcrumbs, salt, and pepper), I sought to recreate my own version.

Zucchini ‘noodles’ tossed with lemon juice, olive oil, oregano, salt and pepper.

And what’s more Italian than pizza? (Wait, let’s not get into that debate).

  • 1 whole wheat pita
  • 1 tsp pesto
  • 2 sundried tomatoes, chopped
  • 2 kalamata olives, chopped
  • a few leaves of spinach
  • mozzarella and parmesan

Baked at 425 for 15 minutes.

The pleasure of food is an art. And I love studying it.

 

Leave a Comment

