Flying by the Seat of Dave’s Pants

I have a problem that I never thought was a problem. I love to have plans. While I am all about relaxing, I get bored quickly and find it difficult to stay at my apartment on the weekend without making plans to meet someone, go somewhere, or do something. It’s just not how I roll.

I try to respect Dave’s need to play it footloose and fancy free on the weekends, but even though I made a commitment to not bite off more than I can chew this year, I have nearly filled my summer up already. So this weekend I decided to put the reins in Dave hands, take a step back, and enjoy whatever comes my way.

When I left work last night, it was slightly chilly, and I already had designs on dinner: gnocchi with a pesto, yogurt, and roasted tomato sauce. But when I arrived home, the grill was going and Dave was ready to cook. My inner self sulked for about 5 minutes before I threw on a hooded sweatshirt, grabbed a beer, and headed outside.

And it was lovely. Dave was thoughtful enough to buy a kind of beer I like (Thunder River Honey Wheat) and some big grillin’ veggie burgers.

These are perfect on the grill because they’re ginormous and actually overshadowed the bun instead of the other way around. Topped with grilled red onions, it was the perfect alternative to a real burger.

I also had two baby potatoes, a side salad, and some pickled veggies, which I am totally digging. Another great recipe to keep! I could have eaten a bowl of just the grilled red onions, but this all made for a more balanced meal. 🙂

We ate dinner while enjoying some Game of Thrones (we’re pacing ourselves on the episodes) followed by some I Love Lucy. If nothing else, Dave and I can always find something we both enjoy watching together, no matter how random.

This morning I broke precedence and ate breakfast before I exercised, because my stomach was grumbling when I woke up.

Chobani Very Berry greek yogurt topped with Barbara’s Puffins (my new favorite cereal), thawed blueberries and a couple cherries, and a spoonful of peanut butter. Delish.

Had to have some iced coffee with it. This glass times four. I have an addiction.

After letting my stomach settle a bit, I tried a new video: Jillian Michaels Extreme Shed and Shred.

Even though Jillian was pretty adamant that I do both Levels 1 & 2, I just did Level 1. This workout was really fun! It was actually pretty easy, but I think it will be a great addition for mornings when I don’t feel like I have a lot of energy. If I do, I’d probably do both levels together.

It was great to see my old pal Bashira back in action again.

Love that girl!

The only exercise I wasn’t crazy about was the Capoeria move which I assume was supposed to make me feel like a ninja.

But it really just made me feel like a dork.

I’m finally going to get out of my beloved yoga capris and go with the flow today. Unfortunately, this may involve taking Dave in to the doctor, as he thinks he may have strep throat!

Do you jam-pack your days or fly by the seat of your pants?

Leave a Comment

