Doctor Ordered Day

My poor Davy did not have strep, but he does have a throat infection. We headed to Walgreens after his visit to pick up his prescription, then home for him to relax and enjoy plenty of Raspberry Cream tea. Even though I’m not sick, I had no trouble helping him polish off two pots, cup after delicious cup.

While he was relaxing (ie, playing computer games), I spent the afternoon spot cleaning our apartment. Our friend gave us a little carpeted cat scratching post and perch that Athena and Artemis adore.

They watch birds from it, fight from it, and Athena scratches it like mad until little shreds of blue carpet spot the floor like confetti. Since I spend so much time downward dogging and supermanning on the living room floor, I like it to be relatively clean.

At least they take turns sharing.

Since the day is rather gloomy, I decided to cook Dave dinner indoors rather than grilling outside. And I knew just what to make–the gnocchi that has been on my mind while I’ve been reading Under the Tuscan Sun. I kind of just want to eat the book.

Not to be overly dramatic, but I’m pretty sure I’m going to die if I don’t visit Europe soon. Okay, that was a bit over the top, but it feels true.

Gnocchi with Creamy Roasted Tomato Sauce (for 2)

  • 2 cups gnocchi
  • 2 roma tomatoes, sliced
  • 2 cloves garlic, sliced
  • 1/4 cup greek yogurt
  • 1 tbsp pesto
  • splash of red wine
  • parmesan cheese
  • salt & pepper

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Arrange roma tomatoes and garlic in a single layer on an oiled baking pan.

Sprinkle with salt and pepper. Roast for about 25-30 minutes, shaking the pan halfway through to prevent sticking.

Move tomatoes and garlic to a small saucepan over low heat.

Add yogurt, pesto, and red wine, and puree with a stick blender.

Meanwhile, prepare gnocchi according to package directions. I used frozen homemade gnocchi that Dave made awhile ago. I simply brought a saucepan 2/3 full of water to a rolling boil, added the gnocchi, and let cook for about 2-3 minutes.

Spoon sauce over gnocchi, top with shredded parmesan and serve.

Simple. Easy. Delicious. Like avocado and good cheese, pesto is  one of the foods that can make anything taste good.

I made us side salads with spinach, craisins, walnuts, red onion and a bit of blueberry vinaigrette. Served with a hunk of bread and another episode of Game of Thrones.

Leave a Comment

